|
Printer-friendly version

The following Internet sites have been collected because they meet
some of the very specific needs of genealogy researchers. This
group of sites is not intended to be all-inclusive, but rather
representative of the information available on the Internet.
Please refer back to the
megasites on the Genealogy Home Page for many other worthwhile
sites. We have also included print sources available at the Camden County Library for some
of these categories.
Census Records
Soundex Conversion Program http://searches.rootsweb.com/cgi-bin/Genea/soundex.sh "The Soundex system is the means established by the National Archives to
index the U.S. censuses (beginning with 1880). It codes together
surnames of the same and similar sounds but of variant spellings.
Soundexes are arranged by state, Soundex code of the surname, and given
name."
U.S. Census Bureau
http://www.census.gov The Census site describes the Age Search Service, includes a database
which provides a count of Frequently Occurring Names and Surnames from
the 1990 census, and provides a Genealogy Guide.
Return to menu
Charts and Forms
Census Forms
http://www.familytreemaker.com/00000061.html
Pedigree Charts
http://www.ida.net/users/elaine/pedigre2.htm Includes the HTML Codes for the Pedigree Chart & the Family Group Sheet.
Free.
Blank
Genealogy Charts http://www.familytreemagazine.com/forms/download.html Available as text or pdf files.
Return to menu
Dictionaries
A Web of Online Dictionaries
http://www.yourdictionary.com/ Links to 600 dictionaries in 150 languages collected by Bucknell
University.
Abbreviations, Dictionaries, and Glossaries
http://www.genealogy.com/links/c/c-how-to-and-help,abbreviations-definitions-and-glossaries.html
Translating Dictionaries
http://dictionaries.travlang.com/
Return to menu
Handwriting
Deciphering Old Handwriting
http://www.amberskyline.com/treasuremaps/oldhand.html
Heraldry
Heraldry on the Internet
http://www.digiserve.com/heraldry/ Includes family name and city and town coats or arms, a dictionary of
heraldry, and heraldic clip art.
Return to menu
Letters
Sample letters to a church in several languages
http://www.genealogienetz.de/misc/letters/
Sample letters to an archive in several languages
http://www.genealogienetz.de/misc/letters/let-arc.html
Military Records
Lists
of World War II war dead by state - Army and Army Air Force http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/ww2/army-casualties/
Lists
of World War II war dead by state - Navy, Marine Corps, and
Coast Guard Personnel http://www.archives.gov/research/arc/ww2/navy-casualties/index.html
Korean War Casualty Lists
http://www.archives.gov/research/korean-war/casualty-lists/state-level-alpha.html
Vietnam War Casualty Lists
http://www.archives.gov/research/vietnam-war/casualty-lists/state-level-alpha.html
National Personnel Records Center--Military
Personnel 20th Century Records http://www.archives.gov/veterans/military-service-records/location/
Archives
Records for Pre-WWI Records http://www.archives.gov/veterans/military-service-records/pre-ww-1-records.html
Online Photo Archives
Dead
Fred http://www.deadfred.com/
Trace your roots with our searchable database containing
thousands of identified and mystery photos for genealogy
enthusiasts looking for long-lost family.
Ancient
Faces http://www.ancientfaces.com/
Includes over 30,000 photos, stories, recipes and more.
Primary Sources and Archives/Libraries
Library of Congress
http://lcweb.loc.gov/rr/genealogy/ The Library of Congress has one of the world's premier collections of
U.S. and foreign genealogical and local historical publications.
This site for the Local History & Genealogy Reading Room at the Library
provides information about their collections, information about
published U.S. Civil War regimental histories, bibliographies and guides
to the Library's genealogy collections, and other Internet sources.
National Archives – all U.S.
locations http://www.archives.gov/locations/
National Archives and Records Administration
Genealogy Page (Washington, D.C.)
http://www.nara.gov/genealogy/genindex.html Includes information about NARA'S research facilities, publications,
workshops/courses, and online information.
National Union Catalog
of Manuscript Collection
http://www.loc.gov/coll/nucmc/
New Jersey Public Records and Archives
http://www.state.nj.us/state/darm/
Primary Sources Repositories
http://www.uidaho.edu/special-collections/Other.Repositories.html Lists thousands of Web sites around the world which describe holdings of
manuscripts, archives, rare books, historical photographs, and other
primary sources. Organized by geographic region.
Return to menu
Searchable Databases
Ancestry: List of Databases
http://www.ancestry.com/search/rectype/alldblist.asp This is a list of all the databases available from Ancestry.com. Some
are free, but many are not.
Ellis
Island: Passenger Search http://www.ellisisland.org/default.asp Now you can research the passenger records from ships that brought 22
million immigrants through Ellis Island and the Port of New York
between 1892 and 1924 and view the original manifests with passengers'
names.
Search Engines
http://www.rootsweb.com/rootsweb/searches/
Return to menu
Social Security/Obituaries
ObitFinder
http://www.legacy.com/Legacy.asp Find recent obituaries from more than 1,000 newspapers.
Obituary
Daily Times http://www.rootsweb.com/~obituary/ The Obituary Daily Times is a daily index of published obituaries.
This is an index and does not provide the actual obituary but provides
the name of the newspaper in which it was published.
Social Security Death Index
http://www.ancestry.com/ssdi/advanced.htm
Software
Computers (includes software)
http://www.genealogy.com/links/c/c-computers.html
Genealogical Software
http://www.lkessler.com/gplinks.shtml Comprehensive list of websites with information about computer software
for genealogy including evaluative comments.
Genealogy Software
http://www.genhomepage.com/software.html
Return to menu
Surnames & First Names
FamilySearch http://www.familysearch.org/ This is The Church of the Latter-day Saints search engine. It includes
millions of names from the Ancestral file and millions of names from the
International Genealogical Index. You can search by surname and keyword
or perform a custom search for surnames, Web sites, books, and more.
Global Surname Search http://worldconnect.rootsweb.com/cgi-bin/igm.cgi Search an entire country or the world for your surnames.
The Roots Surname List Name Finder
http://rsl.rootsweb.com/cgi-bin/rslsql.cgi Searchable index of surnames leading to other genealogists researching
the same name.
Surname Springboard
http://www.geocities.com/~alacy/spring.htm The purpose of this site is to compile a comprehensive listing of
surname genealogy sites which include "Indexed" Family Trees.
Surname Web http://www.surnameweb.org/ List the surnames you are researching here and search the database.
Surnames.com http://www.surnames.com/ Includes surnames by nationality, surname websites, and reunion
announcements.
U.S. Surname Distribution
http://www.hamrick.com/names/index.html Provides a map showing the distribution of a given surname within the 50
states. The source of the information is the U.S. Census. Nifty site!
Return to menu
Vital Records
Funeral Net
http://www.funeralnet.com Extensive funeral home directory covering the U.S. and Canada plus
additional helpful information.
VitalChek Network
http://www.vitalchek.com/ Obtain birth certificates, death certificates, marriage certificates and
other vital records.
Vital Records Information: United States
http://vitalrec.com/index.html Includes how to obtain both U.S. and foreign vital records information,
other vital records links, and adoption resources.
Print
sources available at the Camden County Library related to these
cool sites:
Cemeteries of the
U.S. Burek, Deborah, Ed. (Ref 929.0125 Cem)
International
Vital Records Handbook Kemp, Thomas J. (Ref 929.1025 Kem and 929.1025 Kem) This book has sample forms for requesting birth, death, etc. records
from overseas.
U.S. Military
Records Neagles, James (Ref 929.3097 Nea) This book tells how to access records from various wars.
Return
to menu
Genealogy
Home Page
http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/pathfinders/coolsite.htm
Questions and Comments: Last Updated
February 14, 2011 , No expiration date
|