Searching for one's ancestors can be an exciting and rewarding experience, much like looking for buried treasure. It provides an opportunity for learning about our past and developing a better understanding of ourselves, as well as for connecting with relatives we might never have met otherwise and with other interesting people involved in the quest for their own heritage. There is a wealth of information available on the Internet to assist us with conducting genealogical research. The intention of this website is to introduce you to some of the best Internet resources currently available which will, hopefully, make your search a little easier. Happy hunting!
Please explore the following Internet sites and print sources which will assist you with beginning your genealogical research.
Help and Guides
Getting Started in
Genealogy and Family History
Hints for Researching your
How to (from Cyndi's List)
Information for Researchers
(from US Gen Web)
The following sites attempt to provide access to all or most of the genealogy information and resources currently available on the Internet. A variety of these pathfinders or megasites have been included because no one site is all-inclusive and the format of one site might appeal more to one user than another. It is recommended that you explore each of these sites as they are updated regularly and contain a wealth of information.
Cyndi's List of Genealogy Sites on the Internet
Genealogy Home Page
Genealogical Society of New Jersey
Found It! (Genealogy Search Engine)
The Mayflower Society, General Society of
Genealogical Society Netguide
New Jersey State Archives
RootsWeb Genealogical Data Cooperative
Social Security Death Index
USGen Web Project
Vital Statistics in Camden
Vital Statistics in New Jersey
Genealogy publications, organizations, and mailing lists
Association of Professional
Federation of Genealogical
National Society, Daughters of the American
Mailing lists hosted by Rootsweb
Print sources to help you get started with your research:
Do Your Family Tree
How To Climb Your Family Tree
Managing a Genealogical Project
General print sources
The Center - A Guide to Genealogical Research in the
The Handy Book for Genealogists: United States of America
Netting Your Ancestors: Genealogical Research on the
Researchers Guide to American Genealogy
The Source: A Guidebook of American Genealogy
Periodicals available at
the Camden County Library which include genealogy columns:
Here are some resources that researchers can use to find information on specific individuals:
In our Periodicals Collection we have:
1. Courier Post
We have this newspaper (the primary newspaper for Camden County) from October, 1949 to the present. You can search for obituaries by going through the microfilm. There is no index available for this newspaper. If you are from out-of-town, and have an accurate date of death within several weeks, we can search for you. We can either email the obituary to you or send it via regular mail. Anyone can search the Courier Post website for current obituaries back to January 1, 1999.
2. Camden County City Directories
We have 25 reels of microfilm that contain the city directories for Camden County from 1863-1947 (some years were not available – please see the list below.) These reels are located with the other microfilm on the 2nd floor, near the reference desk. A list of the years available is below. All are Camden City directories unless noted otherwise.
1863/64-1877/78 -- Missing years
1868, 1871, 1873
3. Federal Census records
The Federal Census reels for the Camden County area for 1850-1930 are available with the other microfilm on the 2nd floor, near the reference desk. Please see our census page at http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/genealogy/census.htm for more details.
Note: The Federal Census is also available on Ancestry-Library Edition and Heritage Quest databases, both available at Camden County Library. In addition, Heritage Quest is available from your home, with a valid library card number.
In our Reference Collection we have:
1. City Directories
We have a collection of print copies of local city directories. These can be found on the reference shelves. A list of cities and years available is below:
2. Telephone Directories
We have print copies of Camden County telephone directories from 1960-present. With the exception of the most current directory, these are kept in Storage. We are happy to retrieve these for your use, but would appreciate a few hours’ notice, especially nights and weekends.
. Please ask for them at the Reference Desk.
3. Other Reference Materials
R929.3747 Ben Passenger Arrivals at the Port of New York, 1820-1829 and 1830-1832 (from Customs Passenger Lists).
R929.3089 Zim German Immigrants: Lists of Passengers Bound from Bremen to New York, 1847-1854, with Places of Origin.
R929.373 Fil Passenger and Immigration Lists Index: A Guide to Published Arrival Records of about 500,000 Passengers Who Came to the United States and Canada in the Seventeenth, Eighteenth, and Nineteenth Centuries (We own 13 volumes of this multi-volume set).
R929.373 Phi Philadelphia Naturalization Records: An Index to Records of Aliens' Declarations of Intention and / or Oaths of Allegiance, 1789-1880, in United States Circuit Court, United States District Court, Supreme Court of Pennsylvania, Quarter Sessions Court, Court of Common Pleas, Philadelphia.
R929.3 Ori The Original Lists of Persons of Quality; Emigrants; Religious Exiles; Political Rebels; Serving Men Sold for a Term of years; Apprentices; Children Stolen; Maidens Pressed; and Others Who Went from Great Britain to the American Plantations 1600-1700.
R929.373 Uni A Census of Pensioners for Revolutionary or Military Services with their Names, Ages, and Places of Residence.
Ref. 929.373 Dau DAR (Daughters of the American Revolution) Patriot Index: Centennial Edition.
R929.373 Cle American Marriage Records Before 1699.
R929.373 Ord The Order of the Founders and Patriots of America Register, Lineages of Associates, Third Supplement, 1961-1980.
R929.3 Mye. Quaker Arrivals at Philadelphia, 1682-1750.
R929.3748 Duf Guide to Records of the Sale of Commonwealth Property in the County of Philadelphia, 1780-1798.
R369.13 Cen Centennial Register, 1888-1988, Pennsylvania Sons of the Revolution.
R929.2097 Rob Ancestors of American Presidents.
R929.3748 Roa Colonial Philadelphians.
R369.13 Kil Virtutis Praemium. The Men Who Founded The State Society of the Cincinnati of Pennsylvania.
R929.2097 Pyne Descendants of the Signers of the Declaration of Independence. Vol. 3 - New Jersey.
R974.91 to 974.999 Histories of various counties in New Jersey, with an emphasis on Southern New Jersey.
R920.0749 New New Jersey Biographical Dictionary.
R920.0749 Nel Nelson's Biographical Cyclopedia of New Jersey.
R974.0974 Cha Early Germans of New Jersey, Their History, Churches and Genealogies.
R929.3749 Gen Genealogies of New Jersey Families.
R920.0749 Sin New Jersey Biographical Index (covers some 100,000 biographies and associated portraits in 237 N.J. cyclopedias, histories, yearbooks, periodicals, and other collective biographical sources published to about 1980).
R973.34 Str Official Register of the Officers and Men of New Jersey in the Revolutionary War.
R929.3749 Doc Documents of the Colonial and Revolutionary History of New Jersey (includes Wills Index from 1670-1817; Marriages Index from 1665-1800 and Extracts from American Newspapers Relating to New Jersey 1704-1782 - indexed).
R917.4987 City Directories: Camden for 1882-1884, 1940 and 1943; Haddonfield for 1950, 1952-56; Collingswood, 1950; Gloucester City, 1951-52 and Haddon Heights/Barrington, 1950-51.
R929.3 Cra Gloucester County, New Jersey. Marriage Records.
R929.3749 Cra South Jersey Marriages: Supplementing the Cape May, Cumberland, Gloucester and Salem County Marriage Records.
R929.3749 Cra Burlington County, New Jersey Marriages.
R929.3749 Cra Camden County, New Jersey Marriages.
R929.3749 Str Revolutionary Census of New Jersey.
R973.314 Jon The Loyalists of New Jersey.
R973.3097 Str Certificates and Receipts of Revolutionary New Jersey.
R973.7097 Jac New Jerseyans in the Civil War.
R973.7349 Too New Jersey Troops in the Gettysburg Campaign.
R973.74 Har History of the Second Regiment, N.G.N.J., Second N.J. Volunteers, Spanish War, Fifth New Jersey Infantry.
Camden County Historical Society
Physical Address: Park Boulevard and Euclid Ave., Camden, NJ 08103
Mailing Address: P.O. Box 378, Collingswood, NJ 08108-0378
Hours: Sunday 12-5 p.m.; closed Monday and Tuesday: Wednesday, Thursday & Friday 12:30-4:30 p.m.; Closed Saturday.
Email contact for the library: firstname.lastname@example.org
For general info: email@example.com
Access to the library is free to Society members and available to non-members for a daily fee of $5.00; $4.00 for senior citizens and students with ID.
Gloucester County Historical Society
Address: 17 Hunter Street, Woodbury, NJ 08096
Hours: Monday-Friday from 1-4 P.M.; Tuesday 6:00-9:30 P.M.; First Saturday of each month October thru June 10am-4pm; Last Sunday of the month from 2:00-5:00 P.M.
Admission is free, but a donation is requested.
National Archives and Records Administration, Mid-Atlantic Region
Address: 900 Market Street, Philadelphia, Pa. 19107-4292
Hours: Monday through Friday 8:00 A.M. to 5:00 P.M.; Second Saturday each month, 8:00 A.M. to 4:00 P.M. Closed Sundays and Federal Holidays
Church of the Latter Day Saints, Family History Center
Address: 260 E. Evesham Rd., Cherry Hill, NJ 08003
Hours: Tuesday, Thursday, 6:30 P.M. - 10:00 P.M.; Wednesday, Thursday and Saturday, 9:30 A.M. - 2:30 P.M.