Camden County Library System

Bellmawr Branch Library Website Gloucester Branch Library Website Haddon Branch Library Website Merchantville Reading Center Website South County Regional Branch Library Website Voorhees Regional Branch Library Website Camden County Library Branches

Divider Line

Subject Guides: Higher Education

Divider Line

 Books | Subjects | Helpful Reference | Websites | Educational Testing | Financial  Aid

Books you can take with you are in this number range:
331.702, 370.1, 374, 378.1, 378.7

When searching our catalog use these subjects:
Achievement Tests 
College Choice
College Entrance Achievement Tests 
College Student Orientation
Education, Higher
Educational Tests and Measurements 
Universities and Colleges

Helpful Reference Books:
American Trade Schools Directory - JACIC R371.425 Ame (Located at Voorhees)
College Handbook - JACIC R378.73 College (Located at Voorhees and Bellmawr)
The College Blue Book - JACIC R378.73 College (Located at Voorhees and South County)
Encyclopedia of Careers and Vocational Guidance - JACIC R331.702 Encyclopedia (Located at Voorhees)
The Gourman Report - JACIC R378.1553 Gourman (Located at Voorhees, Gloucester, Haddon, and South County)
Graduate Programs in ... - JACIC R378.1553 Peterson's (Located at Voorhees)
International Handbook of Universities - JACIC R378.0025 Int (Located at Voorhees) Occupational Outlook Handbook - JACIC R331.702 Occupational (Located at Voorhees)
See Also online version : www.bls.gov/oco

Suggested magazine and journal indexes:
Electronic: (Available in Library: CollegeSource and COIN)
          EBSCOhost

Websites:

College Board Online
http://www.collegeboard.org/
     The mission of the College Board is to prepare, inspire, and connect students to college and opportunity. Its members include more than 4,200 schools, colleges, universities, and other educational associations.  Collegeboard.com brings together all the information and tools that students and parents need to plan for the transition from high school to college.
   
Peterson’s
http://www.petersons.com
     Peterson’s publishes quality directories for college bound students.  Their website includes links for college & universities, graduate programs, adult/distance learning programs, private schools, career guidance, summer opportunities, financial aid and study abroad.

College Rankings (from U.S. News Online)
http://www.usnews.com/usnews/rankguide/rghome.htm

     This site  is organized by universities, colleges, schools ranked within regions of the country, specialty schools, and rankings by major.

Back to College:  Resources for Re-entry Students
http://www.back2college.com/
     This site is for nontraditional students and individuals going back to school after years of working.  It includes information on distance education and online courses, financial aid, testing, admissions, resumes, company research, salaries, and more.

Princeton Review
http://www.review.com/

    This site has the tools and advice to help applicants to college, grad, law, business, or med school, and individuals looking for a career or internship achieve their educational and career goals. Search for schools, chat with others going through the same process, get test preparation advice, apply to college, and learn about the schools  interested in.  The site also includes information for parents and college rankings.

Barron's Educational Series
http://www.barronseduc.com 

Kaplan Inc
http://www.kaplan.com 

students.gov
http://www.students.gov
     students.gov is a cooperative effort between federal agencies, students, and other parts of the higher education community, under the leadership of the U.S. Department of Education. There are 2 main sections namely Pay for Your Education and Plan Your Education further organized by subsections. The drop down menus on the left have several links to other government agencies of relevance.

Send Your Child to College:  the Internet Guide for Parents
http://www.guideforparents.com/
     This excellent resource created by a librarian includes links for megasites, financial aid, exploring colleges (including directories and rankings), practical help for getting accepted into college, and various tests.

Yahoo: Higher Education
http://dir.yahoo.com/Education/Higher_Education 

Educational Testing :

ACT Assesment
http://www.act.org 

Advanced Placement Program
http://www.collegeboard.org/ap  

Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery (ASVAB) 
http://www.asvabprogram.com/  

Certified Public Accountants
http://www.cpa-exam.org  

College Level Examination Program (CLEP)
http://www.collegeboard.org/clep  

Educational Testing Service
http://www.ets.org 

General Educational Development (GED)
http://www.gedtest.org 

Graduate Record Examination
http://www.gre.org  

Law School Admission Test
http://www.lsat.org see also http://www.lsac.org 

Medical College Admission Test
http://www.aamc.org/students/mcat/start.htm  

Miller Analogies Test
www.milleranalogies.com 

National Council of State Boards of Nursing (NCEX)
https://www.ncsbn.org/nclex.htm

Praxis
http://www.ets.org/praxis  

Preliminary SAT (PSAT)/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test
http://www.collegeboard.org/psat/student/html/indx001.html  

Scholastic Aptitude Test (SAT)
http://www.collegeboard.org/testing  

Test of English as a Foreign Language
http://www.toefl.org 

Test of Spoken English
http://www.toefl.org/tse/tseindx.html  

United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE)
http://www.usmle.org  

Financial Aid

See: http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/pathfinders/finaid.htm 

 


Search the library website.
  
Search for books, DVDs...