Camden County Library System

Library Branches

Divider Line

Subject Guides: Alternative Medicine

Divider Line

See also: Health and Medicine Reference Guide | Women's Health

Books you can take with you are in this number range:
613.3-615.8
610
613

When searching our catalog use these subjects:
Alternative Medicine (see related terms - Osteopathy, Naturopathy, Chiropractic, etc.)
Holistic Medicine
See Specific Treatments (i.e. Acupuncture, Massage, Herbs--therapeutic use)

Helpful Reference Books:
Prescription for Nutritional Healing - 615.854 Balch http://iii.camden.lib.nj.us/record=b1628162~S8  (Located at Bellmawr, Haddon, South County, Voorhees)
Encyclopedia of Healing Therapies - 615.5 Woodham  http://iii.camden.lib.nj.us/record=b1140075~S8 (Located at Voorhees)
PDR for Herbal Medicines - Ref 615.321 http://iii.camden.lib.nj.us/record=b1160816~S8 (Located at Voorhees and South County)
The Alternative Medicine Encyclopedia - Ref 615.5305 Marti (Located at Voorhees)
 

Local Referral Sources:
Delaware Valley Wellness Network - 610.355.2300

Suggested magazine and journal indexes
:
Electronic: (Available in Library: AltHealthWatch)
          EBSCOhost     

Print:
          Readers Guide to Periodical Literature (Located at Voorhees)

Websites:
Alternative Medicine Homepage
http://www.pitt.edu/~cbw/altm.html
          The Alternative Medicine Homepage is a jump station for sources of information on unconventional, unorthodox, unproven, or alternative, complementary, innovative, integrative therapies. Site includes the Alternative Medicine Database.

Alternative Medicine .com
http://www.alternativemedicine.com/
          The Alternative Medicine site seeks to provide the most current and accurate information on any health condition, therapy, or product from the largest alternative medicine database on the Internet. It includes searchable Yellow Pages listings of over 17,000 alternative medicine practitioners and information from the world's leading alternative doctors and researchers.

Alternative Health Dictionary
http://www.babylon.com/dictionary/9013/A-Dictionary-of-Alternative-Medicine-Methods.htmlhttp://www.canoe.ca/AltmedDictionary/
          The author of this resource is Jack Raso, M.S., R.D.  He is the Director of Publications at the American Council on Science and health (ACSH), a contributing editor to The Scientific Review of Alternative Medicine, and the former editor of Nutrition Forum newsletter.

HealthWorld Online
http://www.healthy.net/
          HealthWorld Online describes itself as "the only Internet health network that integrates both alternative and conventional health information into a synergistic whole". The site includes a disease center, alternative medicine links, an electronic newsletter, a professional referral network, discussion groups, and more. Some services are fee based.

HerbMed
http://www.herbmed.org/
          An interactive, electronic herbal database – provides hyperlinked access to the scientific data underlying the use of herbs for health. It is an evidence-based information resource for professionals, researchers, and general public.

National Center for Complementary and Alternative Medicine
http://nccam.nih.gov/
          The Center conducts and supports basic and applied research and training and disseminates information on complementary and alternative medicine to practitioners and the public. This site includes a Complementary and Alternative Medicine Citation Index consisting of approximately 180,000 bibliographic citations dating from 1963 through 1999:  http://nccam.nih.gov/research/camonpubmed/ and other searchable databases including Medline.

Natural Health and Longevity Resource Center
http://www.all-natural.com/
          This site is a resource for valuable information exchanges on natural health, alternative medicine, complementary medicine, longevity, healing methods, and holistic health. It includes articles, guides to herbs and nutrients, health news, links to other sites, the Leading Edge Index, and health watch updates.

Office of Dietary Supplements
http://dietary-supplements.info.nih.gov
          This site includes the IBIDS Database which is a database of published, international, scientific literature on dietary supplements, including vitamins, minerals, and botanicals and has over 300,000 scientific abstracts & citations. It was created to assist the public, health care providers, and researchers in locating credible, scientific literature on dietary supplements.

 Back to Subject Guides

 

Revised 8/10
 


Search the library website.
  
Search for books, DVDs...