Pathfinders - Antiques & Collectibles


Printer-friendly version    

See also: Art Reference Guide

 Books you can take with you are in this number range:
738-749 

When searching our catalog, use these subjects:
Antiques
Collectibles
Collectibles and collecting
See also specific subject, for example: furniture – collectors and collecting, vintage clothing

Helpful reference books: 

General resources

Antiques Roadshow: The Complete Guide to Collecting 20th Century Toys, Glassware, Costume Jewelry, Memorabilia, Ceramics, & More – Ref 745.1 Pri (Located in Voorhees & South County)

Antique Trader Antiques & Collectibles Price Guide   - Ref. 745.1075 Ant (Located in Voorhees, Gloucester, & South County)
14,000 entries & 4,000 black and white photographs on a variety of collectibles.

Collector’s Mart Price Guide to Limited Edition Collectibles – Ref 745.075 Pri (Located in Voorhees & South County)
Contains 66,000 prices of contemporary collectibles including bells, plates, steins, & figurines.

Encyclopedia of Collectibles – Ref. 790.132 Enc (Located in Merchantville) 

International Antiques Price Guide – Ref.745.1075 Int (Located in South County) 

Kovel’s Antiques and Collectibles – Ref 745.1075 Kov (Located in Voorhees, Bellmawr, & Gloucester)

Kovel’s Antiques & Collectibles Price List  – Ref. 745.1075 Kov (Located in Voorhees, Bellmawr, Haddon, & South County)
For the average collector, 800 pages that cover all types of collectibles.

Lyle Official Antiques Review  – Ref. 745.1 Lyl (Located in Voorhees)
Includes descriptions, illustrations, and values of thousands of items in a variety of categories.

Maloney’s Antiques & Collectibles Resource Dictionary - Ref 745.1025 Mal (Located in Voorhees and South County)
Includes a cross-referencing system, detailed index, 11,000 web page listings & 14,000 e-mail addresses.

Miller’s Antiques, Art, and Collectibles on the Web – Ref. 025.0674 Mil (Located in Voorhees)
Lists websites by specific types of collectibles, such as jewelry, pottery, furniture, and art deco. Also provides details regarding online auctions.  

Miller’s Antiques Shops, Fairs, & Auction – Ref.381.45 Mil 

Miller’s Price Guide Collectibles– Ref. 745.1075 Mil (Located in Voorhees, Gloucester, Haddon, & South County)
Lists handbags, tools, newspapers, & games among items priced.

Official Price Guide to American Arts & Crafts, Third Edition – Ref. 708 Rag (Located in Voorhees)

Official Guide to Flea Market Prices – Ref. 745.1075 Off (Located in Voorhees, Gloucester, & South County)
Provides a listing of potential collecting categories including snow globes, perfume bottles, juke boxes, and teapots. 

Pictorial Price Guide to American Antiques – Ref. 745.1097 Pic (Located in Voorhees, Gloucester, & Haddon) 

The Complete Encyclopedia of Antiques – Ref. 745.1 Con (Located in Voorhees)  

Warman’s Antiques & Collectibles Price Guide– Ref. 745.1075 War (Located in Voorhees, Bellmawr, & South County)
More than 50,000 listings on many types of collectible pieces. 

Americana

Warman’s Americana & Collectibles – Ref. 790.132 War (Located in Voorhees) 

Art

Art Information & The Internet – How to Find It, How to Use It – Ref. 025.067 Jon (Located in Voorhees)Chapter 8 lists buying and selling of art. 

Davenport’s Art Reference & Price Guide, Gold Edition – Ref.702.9 Dav (Located in Voorhees)

Books 

The Care of Fine Books – Ref. 025.7 Gre (Located in Voorhees)

Official Overstreet Comic Book Price Guide– Ref. 741.5973 Ove (Located in Voorhees & South County) Books are listed by title and alphabetical list of comic books as well as values.

Bookman’s Price Index – Ref. 018 Boo (Located in Voorhees)
Consolidated index to citations describing Antiquarian books offered for sale by leading dealers 

Coins & Currency 

A Guide Book to United States Coins – Ref. 737.4973 Gui (Located in Bellmawr, Gloucester, & Haddon)

Coins & Currency: An historical encyclopedia – Ref.737.403 Sho (Located in Voorhees) 

Gold Coins of the  world from ancient times to the present – Ref. 737.43 Fn (Located in Voorhees)

Coin World Comprehensive Catalog Encyclopedia of United States Coins – Ref. 737.4973 Coi (Located in Gloucester)

Official Blackbook Price Guide to United States Paper Money – Ref. 769.5597 Hud (Located in Haddon)

Paper Money of the United States: A Complete Illustrated Guide with Valuations – Ref. 769.5597 Fri (Located in Gloucester) 

Standard Catalog of World Paper Money – Ref. 769.55 Sta (Located in Bellmawr, Voorhees, Gloucester, Haddon, & South County)  

State Quarter Collector – Ref.737.4973 (Located in Bellmawr)

Warman’s Coins & Currency – Ref. 737.4 Ber (Located in Bellmawr) 

Clothing

Antique & Vintage Clothing: Dating & Valuation of Women’s Clothing 1850-1940  – Ref.391.2077 Sny (Located in Voorhees)

 The Complete Guide to Vintage Textiles – Ref. 746.075 Kur (Located in Voorhees) 

Dolls & Teddy Bears

The Barbie Years 1959-1995 - Ref 745.5922 Old (Located in Voorhees)
Value guide of Barbie dolls and “family & friends” including Ken, Skipper, PJ, and Midge. 

Blue Book of Dolls & Values - Ref. 745.5922 Blu (Located in Voorhees & South County)
Divided into two color coded sections: Antique & Vintage Dolls and Modern Collectible Dolls.

The World of Dolls - Ref. 745.5922 Dol (Located in Voorhees)
Identification & price guide covering paper, ethnic, foreign, and personality dolls. 

Doll Values  - Ref. 745.592 Dol (Located in Voorhees & Haddon)
Alphabetically listed & grouped by manufacturer, type, and material.

Collector Value Guide: Ty’s Beanie Babies – Ref. 745.5924 (Located in Voorhees & South County) 

Collector’s Encyclopedia of American Composition Dolls 1900-1950 – Ref. 745.5922 Mer (Located in Voorhees)

The Doll Source Book – Ref. 745.5922 Dol (Located in Voorhees)
Provides more than 750 listings of stores, dealers, workshops, artists, shows, and publications. 

Madame Alexander Dolls 1965-1990  - Ref. 754.5922 Smi (Located in Voorhees & Bellmawr)
Guide to various Alexander Doll Company theme dolls

Modern Collectible Dolls Identification & Value Guide Vol II. – Ref. 745.5922 Moy (Located in Voorhees & South County)
Pictorial reference guide for collectors

The Teddy Bear Companion Volume I – Ref. 745.5924 Hoc (Located in Voorhees)
Color listing of more than 400 bears in full color

The Teddy Bear Source Book for Collectors & Artists – Ref. 745.5924 Ted (Located in Voorhees) 

Dinnerware & Glassware (including bottles)

Collector Encyclopedia of Stangl Dinnerware – Ref. 738.0974Run (Located in Voorhees)

Collectible Glassware from the 40s, 50s, 60s – Ref. 748.2913 Flo (Located in Voorhees)
Value guide on various pieces of these time periods 

Standard Encyclopedia of Carnival Glass – Ref 748.2904 Edw (Located in Voorhees)  

Standard Encyclopedia of Pressed Glass– Ref. 748.2913 Edw (Located in Voorhees)
Covers glass developed from 1860-1930 in a various shapes & forms. 

Kovel’s Bottles Price List– Ref. 748.8209 Kov (Located in Voorhees & South County)
Provides prices for bottles from the 1700s to the 1990s. 

Kovel’s Depression Glass & Dinnerware Price List– Ref. 738.0973 Kov (Located in Voorhees)
Identifies pieces & patterns from the 1920s to 1980s. 

Warman’s Glass – Ref. 748.2075 War (Located in Voorhees & South County)
Price guide of more than 200 types of American & European glass. 

Farm Antiques 

Encyclopedia of American Farm Implements & Antiques – Ref. 631.3 Wen 

Furniture

American Antique Furniture 1640-1840 – Ref. 749.213 Pet (Located in Voorhees & Bellmawr)

Antique Oak Furniture: An Illustrated Value Guide – Ref. 749.2 Hil (Located in Voorhees)

Dictionary of Furniture – Ref. 749.03 Dic (Located in Voorhees & Haddon)

Fake, fraud, or genuine?: Identifying Authentic American antique furniture – Ref. 749.213 Kay (Located in Voorhees)

Field Guide to American Antique Furniture – Ref. 749.213 But (Located in Voorhees)

Furniture of the  Depression Era: Furniture & Accessories of the 1920s, 1930s, & 1940 – Ref. 749.2049 (Located in Voorhees) 

How to Speak Furniture With An Antique French Accent – Ref. 749.24 Sie (Located in Voorhees)

The Bulfinch Anatomy of Antique Furniture – Ref. 749.1 For (Located in Voorhees)

Warman’s American Furniture – Ref. 749.213 War (Located in Voorhees)

Victorian Furniture with Prices  Ref. 749.213 Lin (Located in Voorhees)

Wallace-Homestead Price Guide to American Country Furniture– Ref. 745.1075 Wal (Located in Voorhees & Haddon)
Provides guidelines for evaluating American furniture including a list of “hot” items.

Jewelry

Collectible Costume Jewelry – Ref. 688.2075 (Located in Voorhees & South County)
2003 value and identification guide.

Warman’s Antique Jewelry Field Guide – Ref 739.2707 Bel (Located in Voorhees)
Provides over 400 photos & illustrations of antique, estate, & costume jewelry. Jewelry is arranged alphabetically by genre with values & identifications listed.

Warman’s Jewelry -   Ref. 739.2709 Rom (Located in Voorhees & Bellmawr)
Guide to styles & types of period, vintage, & antique jewelry. Provides a seven step criteria for evaluating a piece of jewelry.

Kitchen

300 Years of Kitchen Collectibles– Ref. 683.82 (Located in Voorhees)

Paper

Warman’s Paper – Ref. 741.6 Mar (Located in Voorhees)
Valuation of many paper items including advertisements

Pictures

Miller’s Pictures Price Guide  –  Ref. 760.075 Mil (Located in Voorhees)


Pottery & Porcelain 

Collector’s Encyclopedia of Roseville Pottery, Volume 2 – Ref. 738.37 Hux (Located in Voorhees)
Listing of items from the Roseville Pottery Company.

Warman’s American Pottery & Porcelain– Ref. 738.0973 War  (Located in Voorhees)
Price Guide and reference to 150 potteries

Records/Recordings

American Premium Record Guide 1900-1965 – Ref. 780.266 Duc (Located in Voorhees)
Lists records in the most widely collected categories: jazz, country & western, R&B, and rock-n-roll.

Official Price Guide to Records  Ref. 780.266 (Located in Voorhees)
50,000 listings of various recordings in all genres of music.

Silver

Antiques at a Glance: Silver – Ref. 739.2383 Mac (Located in Voorhees)
Gives period descriptions & details on flatware, hollowares, candlesticks, & small silver collectibles.

Warman’s Sterling Silver Flatware Value & Identification Guide –  Ref. 739.2383 Mor (Located in Voorhees)
Gives 18,000 values & listings with 1,200 photos.

Silverplated Flatware Revised Fourth Edition – Ref. 739.238 Sil (Located in Voorhees)
Organized alphabetically by company, patterns are illustrated in chronological order by introduction desk.

Stamps

Scott Specialized Catalogue of United States Stamps – Ref. 769.56 Sco (Located in Voorhees, Haddon,  & South County)

The international guide to stamps and stamp collecting. Includes the answers to 1200 questions most often asked about stamps  - Ref. 769.56 Pat (Located in Voorhees)

The stamp atlasRef. 796.56 Wel (Located in Voorhees)  

Toys

Collecting Toys Identification & Value Guide 10th Edition – Ref. 688.72 Col (Located in Voorhees)

Schroeder’s Collectible Toys Antique to Modern Price Guide Ninth Edition – Ref. 745-592 Sch (Located in Voorhees & South County)

Stern’s Guide to Disney Collectibles Third Series – Ref. 741.5097 Ste (Located in Voorhees & Bellmawr)

Toys & Prices – Ref. 688.7207 Toy (Located in Voorhees & Gloucester)

Trading Cards

Victorian Trade Cards – Ref. 769.5075 Che (Located in Voorhees)


Helpful Magazines/Journals
:

Antique Trader – (Located at Voorhees)
Antiques and Collecting Magazine – (Located at Voorhees)
Collector Editions – (Located at Voorhees)
Magazine Antiques – (Located at Voorhees)

Websites:

Antique networking
http://www.antiqnet.com 
     Find resources, such as lecturers, conservators, insurance services, estate sales, and publications using the site's many links. Also links to dealers and antique centers-find collectibles by subject.

Antiques Roadshow online
http://pbs.org/wgbh/pages/roadshow 
     A guide to the popular PBS series. Information about upcoming shows, stories of items that you have seen on past shows. Play the "appraisal game" and figure out what some pieces are worth.

Collectics
http://collectics.com/ 
    Publishes lots of free reference information on major artists and design periods on the Reference & Education pages, and has rotating exhibitions in their Virtual Museum of top Art Deco, Art Nouveau, and Arts & Crafts design and featuring Tiffany, Handel, and Pairpoint lamps.

Curioscape
http://www.curioscape.com 
Links to over 15,000 online antique stores, grouped by specialty.

ebay
http://www.ebay.com 
Bid on a huge variety of items varying from the mundane to the exotic. All price ranges. This is the place to find your childhood lunchbox or the albums that you wish you hadn't thrown away.

icollector
http://www.icollector.com 
Participate in online auctions, browse auction house catalogs, and search archives of recent sales. Also includes links to dealers and galleries.

International Society of Appraisers
http://www.isa-appraisers.org
Search for a certified appraiser in your area. Tips on choosing an appraiser.

Kovel's Online
http://www.kovel.com 
Kovel's online antiques and collectibles price guide. Also includes links to articles with information about prices as well as hot tips for collectors.

Maloney's online
http://www.maloneysonline.com
 Search for experts and dealers by their area of expertise. Also includes databases of appraisers, repair services, auctioneers, and periodicals.

Nanny Jack & Company
http://www.nannyjack.com -  Website owned and managed by Phillip J. Merrill, appraiser on The Antiques Roadshow & expert in Black memorabilia

Sotheby's
http://www.sothebys.com
     Place bids on objects in an online auction, preview items available in forthcoming sales, and check auction results. Includes tips for collectors in Sotheby's online magazine, Connoisseur.



Search the library website.  

Search for books, DVDs...   

Questions or comments? E-mail the  or call 856-772-1636.  Feedback

Last Reviewed: November 19, 2008