ASIAN AMERICANS: RESOURCES ON THE INTERNET


Printer-friendly version

NEWS

CNN AsiaNow http://www.cnn.com/ASIANOW/
Business, sports, weather etc. from “CNN” on the Asian subcontinent.

Financial Times/Asia Pacific http://news.ft.com/news/worldnews/asiapacific
Financial news and analysis specific to the area.

GENERAL RESOURCES

Asian American Links http://latino.sscnet.ucla.edu/Asian.links.html
This site offers an extensive list of Internet gophers, newsgroups, and listservs regarding Asian American issues as well as a wide selection of sites and resources. 

East and Southeast Asia: An annotated directory of Internet resources http://newton.uor.edu/Departments&Programs/AsianStudiesDept/asianam.html
Annotated directory of Internet resources on East Asia, Southeast Asia, and Asian Americans.

Yahoo Asia http://asia.yahoo.com/

A  portal providing news, stock reports, shopping, weather, etc. just for Asia

Yahoo China  http://cn.yahoo.com/
A portal for China in Chinese.

Yahoo India http://in.yahoo.com/
A portal for India providing news on cricket, movies, weather, finance, etc. relevant for India.

REFERENCE / ACADEMIC SITES

Asian-American Resources (University of Maryland's Diversity Database) http://www.lib.umd.edu/guides/asian_americans.html
This section of the “University of Maryland, College Park's Diversity Database” includes valuable sources concerning Asian American cultural, political, professional and educational issues. 


Asian-American Studies http://www.library.ucsb.edu/subj/asian-am.html This site from University of California, Santa Barbara offers links to other mega-sites as well as to organizations, schools, journals, and additional resources. 

Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library http://coombs.anu.edu.au/WWWVL-AsianStudies.htm
Global collaborative project, which provides access in bibliographic and in hypertext terms to networked scholarly documents, resources and information systems relevant to Asian Studies. 

East Asian Archive http://www.lib.uci.edu/online/subject/subpage.php?subject=asiamer
University of California, Irvine's This site contains access to resources relevant to the study of Cambodian, Laotian, Vietnamese and Hmong immigration to the United States. It offers links to a variety of relevant web pages. 

UCLA Asian American Studies Center http://www.aasc.ucla.edu/default.asp

ORGANIZATIONS / ASSOCIATIONS

Asia Society http://www.asiasociety.org
America’s leading Institution dedicated to fostering understanding of Asia.  Information on business, education, census, regional cultural events, etc. of relevance to Asian Americans.

HELPFUL SITES FOR ASIAN IMMIGRANTS

EMPLOYMENT / BUSINESS

Occupational Outlook Handbook http://stats.bls.gov/oco/ocoiab.htm
Find career information by occupation on this site.

Small Business Administration, New Jersey http://www.sba.gov/nj/
Agency of the federal government to aid, counsel, assist and protect the interests of small business concerns.

New Jersey Career Resources
http://www.careers.org/reg/crusa-nj.html

Workforce New Jersey Public Information Network
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/wnjpin/wnjpin_index.html

WNJPIN is the State's Online One Stop Career Center

GOVERNMENT LINKS

New Jersey State Legislature http://www.njleg.state.nj.us
Links include: Full-text of NJ Statutes, Full Text of Bills from 1996-Present, Constitution, Chapter Laws, Legislative Calendar and directories.

U.S. Immigration and Naturalization Service http://uscis.gov/graphics/
The official site of the INS, which has  forms, laws, regulations, news, and more…

Charter of Freedom http://www.archives.gov/national-archives-experience/charters/charters.html 
This superb site contains transcriptions and digitized images of the founding documents of the American Republic including the Declaration of Independence, the Constitution, the Bill of Rights, and the Magna Carta of 1215.

 

Search the library website.  

Search for books, DVDs...   

Questions or comments? E-mail the  or call 856-772-1636.  Feedback

Last Reviewed: November 19, 2008