Pathfinders - Black History


Printer-friendly version    

Books you can take with you are in this number range: 305.896

When searching our catalog use these subjects:
African Americans -- History
American literature -- African American authors
African Americans -- Biography

Helpful Reference Books:

  • African Folklore – Ref 398.096 Afr (Located at Voorhees and South County)

  • Black First: 400 Ground-Breaking and Pioneering Historical Events – Ref 305.896 Bla (Located at Voorhees and South County)

  • African American Desk Reference - Ref 305.896 New (Located at Voorhees)

  • Contemporary Black Biography - Ref 920.0092 Contemporary (Located at Voorhees)

  • Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History - Ref 305.896 Enc (Located at
     Bellmawr, Voorhees)

  • Encyclopedia of African American History, 1695-1895: from the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass – Ref 305.896 Enc (Located at South County)

  • Encyclopedia of African American Politics – Ref 973.0496 Afr (Located at Voorhees)

  • Slavery in America: From Colonial Times to the Civil War – Ref 973.0496 Sch  (Located at Voorhees)

  • Timetables of African-American History - Ref. 305.896 Har (Located at   Gloucester,  and Voorhees)

  • Who's Who Among African Americans - Ref 920.0092 Who's (Located at Voorhees)

Suggested magazine and journal indexes:
Electronic:
          EBSCOhost     
          Facts on File History Databases – select African American History

Websites:


African American History Sites

The African-American Mosaic Exhibition (Library of Congress)
http://lcweb.loc.gov/exhibits/african/intro.html

Afro Americans in New Jersey
http://www.njstatelib.org/NJ_Information/Digital _Collections/Digidox9.php

American Memory: African American Odyssey (Library of Congress)
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/aaohtml

Amistad Research Center
http://www.amistadresearchcenter.org

Black Facts Online
http://www.blackfacts.com

TheBlackMarket.com-Black History Sites
http://www.theblackmarket.com/blksites.html#anchor1838716

Education First: Black History Activities
http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/BHM/AfroAm.html

Encyclopaedia Britannica’s Guide to Black History
http://search.eb.com/blackhistory

Gale's Black History Month
http://www.gale.com/free_resources/bhm/

Images of African Americans from the 19th Century -from the NYPL Schomburg Collection
http://digital.nypl.org/schomburg/images_aa19/inmain.html

National Civil Rights Museum
http://www.civilrightsmuseum.org/gallery/movement.asp

Underground Railroad -- interactive, from National Geographic
http://www.nationalgeographic.com/railroad/

World Book Encyclopedia Presents: The African American Journey
http://www.worldbook.com/wb/Students?content_spotlight/aajourney 


African American Authors Sites

African American Literature Book Club
http://authors.aalbc.com

Afro Book Stop - Books by African American Authors
http://www.AfroBookStop.com/

BBN - The Black Book Network
http://www.blackbooknetwork.com/

Black Caucus of the American Library Association Literary Awards
http://www.bcala.org/awards/literary.htm

Camden County Library's African American Author List
http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/readers/booklists/africanamericanauthors.htm

Coretta Scott King Author Awards
http://www.ala.org/ala/emiert/corettascottkingbookawards/abouttheawarda/cskabout.htm


African American Biography Sites

African Americans from the Harmon Art Collection
http://www.npg.si.edu/exh/harmon/index.htm

Black History Biographies
http://www.gale.com/free_resources/bhm/bio/index.htm

Blacks in Technology: Past and Present
http://www.users.fast.net/~blc/xlhome2.htm

The Faces of Science: African Americans in the Sciences.
https://webfiles.uci.edu/mcbrown/display/faces.html

Profiles of Great African Americans
http://www.black-collegian.com/african/aaprofil.shtml


Martin Luther King, Jr.

Biographical Outline of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
http://www.thekingcenter.org/mlk/bio.html

Martin Luther King Jr. - presented by the Seattle Times
http://www.seattletimes.com/mlk/index.html

Martin Luther King, Jr. National Historic Site: Speeches of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
http://www.nps.gov/archive/malu/documents/king_speeches.htm

 



http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/pathfinders/blackhistory.htm 
Questions and Comments:
Last Reviewed: July 21, 2009