Citation Verification Resources


Printer-friendly version    

Books & AV Materials

Information needed includes title and author. The ISBN number is very helpful. Some items do not have an ISBN number – in this case an LC number or OCLC number is helpful.

 

OCLC

http://illweb.oclc.org

Also on subscription databases page.

Books in Print

http://www.booksinprint.com

Print volumes located at Ref. 015.73 Boo.

Amazon

http://www.amazon.com

Barnes & Noble

http://www.bn.com

Library of Congress Catalog

http://catalog.loc.gov

JerseyCat

http://njsl-agent.auto-graphics.com/agent/login.asp?cid=njsl&lid=ccpl

Also on the library's reference computers (LAN).

Rutgers University Catalog

http://www.iris.rutgers.edu

Now cataloging new materials in RLIN, so can check their catalog directly if materials not found in OCLC.

Princeton University Catalog

http://libweb.princeton.edu/catalogs/

Now cataloging new materials in RLIN, so can check their catalog directly if materials not found in OCLC.

Video Source Book

Ref. 011.37 Vid

Bowker’s Complete Video Directory

Ref. 016.7914 Bow

Play Index

Ref. 016.80882 Pla

Short Story Index (print and online)

Index Table 808.83 Sho

Also on the library's reference computers (LAN) at LitFinder

 

Articles

Information needed includes the title of the article, author(s), name of magazine/newspaper/journal, date and/or volume and issue, and page numbers. Having the ISSN number is also helpful. If an ISSN number cannot be located, an OCLC number is helpful.

 

To locate an ISSN and/or OCLC number:

 To complete or correct a citation:

 To find out where a journal is indexed, check its entry in Ulrich’s (Ready Ref. 016.05 Ulr), Full Text Sources Online (Ready Ref. 025.04 Ful) or Search Jake at http://jake.lib.sfu.ca/search.cgi.

 Also, some a magazines/journals have web sites with archives. Some archives are full text and others just give table of contents. These can also be useful in verifying citations and can be found by searching Google (http://www.google.com) or Publist (http://www.publist.com.)

 Dissertations 

OCLC

http://illweb.oclc.org

Also on subscription databases page.

Dialog – File 35 Dissertation Abstracts Online

See the subscription databases page for access to Dialog. The bluesheet for this file is at http://library.dialog.com/bluesheets/html/bl0035.html

Dissertation Abstracts web site

http://wwwlib.umi.com/dissertations/

Free access to the most current 2 years of abstracts.

 



http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/pathfinders/citations.htm 
Last Reviewed: July 21, 2009
Camden County Library System
856-772-1636