Books | Services at the Camden County Library System  | Websites - General | Websites - Specific | Disabilities - General:  Contact Information |  Disabilities - Specific: Contact Information


 

BOOKS IN THE CAMDEN COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM

Area community resources 2007 Camden County guide.  Pennsauken, NJ: Community Information and Referral Office.   Ready Reference 362.9749  Bellmawr, Gloucester, Haddon, Merchantville, South County, Voorhees

Check Subject/Keyword Index under:  ADD/ADHD Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder/ARC/Blind/Visually Impaired, Braille, Cerebral Palsy, Developmental Disabilities, Disabilities Awareness, Disabled Parking Permits, Down Syndrome, Dyslexia, Early Intervention, Hearing, Hearing Aids, Hearing Impaired, Hearing Therapy, Multiple Sclerosis, Muscular Dystrophy, Occupational Therapy, Physically Disabled, Sign Language, Special Needs Children, Vision.   
 
The complete directory for people with disabilities: associations, newsletters, books, products, services.  Lakeville, CT: Grey House Publishing, 2003.   Ref. 362.4048 Com Voorhees
 
Disabilities sourcebook: basic consumer health information.  Detroit: Omnigraphics,  2000. Ref. 362.4048 Dis  Voorhees
about physical and psychiatric disabilities.
 
Gallaudet encyclopedia of deaf people and deafness. 2 vol. McGraw-Hill, 1987
Ref. 362.4203 Gal  Voorhees
 
A man’s guide to coping with disabilities. 2nd. ed.  Lexington, MA: Resources for Rehabilitation, 2003. Ref. 362.4081 Man  Voorhees
 
The lighthouse book on vision impairment and vision rehabilitation.,  2v.
Oxford University Press, 2000.   Ref. 617.7 Lig Voorhees
 
Resources for elders with disabilities. Lexington, MA: Resources for Rehabilitation, 2003. Ref. 262.4048 Res  Voorhees, Haddon
 
Resources for people with disabilities: a national directory.  Chicago: Ferguson Pub., 2001.   Ref. 362.3048 Res  Voorhees
 
Resources for people with disabilities and chronic conditions.  Lexington, MA: Resources for Rehabilitation, 2002.   Ref. 362.4048 Res  Voorhees
 
The self-help group directory. 23rd ed.,  Cedar Knolls, NJ: New Jersey Self-Help Clearinghouse, 2008.   Ready Reference 361.7025 Self  Voorhees
 
A woman's guide to coping with disabilities. Lexington, MA: Resources for Rehabilitation, 2003.  Ref. 362.4048  Wom  Voorhees
 


 

SERVICES AT THE CAMDEN COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM

Here are some of the services the library offers for persons with disabilities:

American Sign Language
The library has a collection of books, audiobooks and videos on basic American Sign Language.  In addition, the Voorhees Branch houses a collection over 200 videotapes on ASL poetry, comedy, stories, drama, debate, discussions and instruction.  More about the collection

Audiobooks
For patrons who are visually impaired, a good alternative may be an audiobook.  The library offers abridged and unabridged audiobooks, on audiotape or CD.

Children's Braille Collection
The library has a collection of children's books in Braille, which are available directly at the South County Regional Branch or by request at any of our branches.

Closed Circuit Television Viewers
The Aladdin Ultra Closed Circuit Television Viewer is available at all library branches.  The viewer employs a video camera lens to enlarge text from 3 to 30 times normal text size and allows patrons to change background and font colors, or look at photographs with ease.

Large Print Collection
All branches have a large print collection of books.  When searching our catalog, use a keyword search.  Enter author, title or subject information and include the words "large type."

Regional Resource Center (RRC) for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
As an RRC, the the Voorhees Regional Branch of the Camden County Library System provides special services to deaf and hard of hearing patrons:

  • TTY capabilities
  • Collection of books and videotapes on hearing loss
  • Assisted listening devices - available to use in the library or to be loaned out (for a one month period)

Screen Readers for the Visually Impaired
Some computers at the Vogelson Regional Branch have the software program Zoomtext for the vision-impaired.  Call 856-772-1636 x 3388 up to one day ahead of time to reserve a computer with this software.

Video Recordings for the Deaf and Hard of Hearing
We have over 3,000 videos that are close-captioned.  In addition, we have videos that are audio enhanced for the persons with hearing losses.  Audio enhanced videotapes in our catalog

Video Recordings for the Visually Impaired
We have a collection of videotapes that have been specially designed for visually impaired viewers.  Videotapes for the visually impaired in our catalog

Additional services are available at the New Jersey Library for the Blind and Handicapped.  Visit the website at http://www2.njstatelib.org/lbh/


WEBSITES-GENERAL

 

A Guide to Disabilities Rights Laws
http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/cguide.htm
 
ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act)  http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/adahom1.htm
 This site provides numerous links to information about the Americans with Disabilities Act.  Click on “ADA Regulations and Technical Assistance Materials” to get the text of Public Law 101-336.  The ADA prohibits discrimination on the basis of disability in employment, State and Local Government, public accommodations, commercial facilities, transportation, and telecommunication. It also applies to the United States Congress. 

Specific ADA websites:

 

ADA Homepage: http://www.ada.gov

ADA Title  I: Employment  http://www.eeoc.gov/
 
ADA Title II: State and Local Government Activities  http://www.usdoj.gov/crt/ada/adahom1.htm
 
ADA Title II: Public Transportation   http://www.usdoj.gov
           
ADA Title III: Public Accommodations   http://www.ada.gov/taman3.html
           
ADA Title IV: Telecommunications Relay Service   http://www.fcc.gov/cgb/dro/trs.html

 
AAPD  (American Association of People with Disabilities)  http://www.aapd-dc.org/
This organization works in coalition with other disability organizations for the full implementation and enforcement of disability and nondiscrimination laws, particularly the Americans with Disabilities Act. 

ADA Accessibility Guidelines for Buildings and Facilities (ADAAG):
http://www.access-board.gov/adaag/html/adaag.htm

 
American Bar Association: http://www.abanet.org/
This site has links to various commissions established by the ADA. 
 
AT&T Foundation http://www.att.com/foundation
 
Fundsnet  http://fundsnetservices.com/disabili.htm
 
Mitsubishi Electric America Foundation http://meaf.org/
 
NARIC (National Rehabilitation Information Center) http://www.naric.com
Serving the nation's disabled community     
 
NJSHC (New Jersey Self-Help Clearing House) The mission of the NJSHC is to increase the awareness, utilization, and understanding of mutual self-help groups to reduce emotional suffering and isolation.     http://www.njgroups.org/
 
Verizon Foundation http://foundation.verizon.com/ 
                               


WEBSITES - SPECIFIC


 
Advocacy:  

American Association of People with Disabilities http://www.aapd-dc.org/
 
Attention Deficit Disorder

National ADDA Disorder Association  http://www.add.org/ 
 
CHADD (Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder)  http://www.chadd.org/
 

Assistive Technology
:
 
CTC Foundation http://www.atn-ctcf.org/home.cfm
 
Microsoft Accessibility: Technology for Everyone  http://www.microsoft.com/enable/at/

 This website has a directory of Assistive Technology products which covers  the four types of assistive technology:
 
(1)  For Visual Impairments: Screen enlargers (or magnifiers) work like a magnifying glass. They enlarge a portion of the screen, increasing the legibility for some users. Screen readers  are software programs that present graphics and text as speech.   Speech recognition systems (aka voice recognition programs), allow people to give commands and enter data using their voices rather than a mouse or keyboard.  Speech synthesizers receive information going to the screen in the form of letters, numbers, and punctuation, and then "speak" it out loud.  Refreshable Braille displays provide tactile output of information represented on the computer screen.  Braille embossers transfer  computer generated text into embossed Braille output.  Talking and large-print word processors are software processors that use speech synthesizers to provide auditory feedback of what is typed.
 
 (2)  For Mobility Impairments: On-screen keyboard programs provide an image of a standard or modified keyboard on the computer screen. The user selects the keys with a mouse, touch screen, trackball, joystick, switch, or electronic pointing device.  Keyboard filters include typing aids such as word prediction utilities and add-on spelling checkers.  Touch screens are devices placed on the computer monitor (or built into it) that allow direct selection or activation of the computer by touching the screen. Alternative input devices allow individuals to control their computers through means other than a standard keyboard or pointing device.
 
(3)  For Language Impairments: Screen review utilities make on-screen information available as synthesized speech and pairs the speech with a visual representation of a word.  
 
(4) For Learning Impairments:  Word prediction programs  allow the user to select a desired word from an on-screen list located in the prediction window. This list predicts words from the first one or two letters typed by the user.    Reading comprehension programs focus on establishing  or improving  reading skills  through ready-made activities, stories, exercises or games.  Reading tools and learning disabilities programs include software designed to make text-based materials more accessible for people who have difficulty with reading.
 
 
Associations/Organizations:

 
American Association  of People with Disabilities http://www.aapd-dc.org/
Blind and Visually Handicapped:


NJ Library for the Blind and Handicapped http://www.njlbh.org
 
PubWebSpeak  http://www.soundlinks.com/
 Internet access for blind/visually handicapped and dyslexic users            
 
Burn Victims:
 
Burn Victims:  http://www.burnsurvivorsonline.com

 

Deaf Children:

 

Deaf Children: http://www.deafchildren.org


Employment of Disabled Adults:
 
disAbility.gov:  http://www.DisabilityInfo.gov
The President’s Task Force on Employment of Adults with Disabilities created this site, www.disAbility.gov to provide a one-stop online access to recourses, services, and information available through the Federal government.  
 
Learning Disabilities:
 

LDA (Learning Disabilities Association of America    http://www.ldanatl.org/

 
Media/Arts: 


National Arts Disability Center
http://nadc.ucla.edu/about.cfm
 
Mental Retardation: 
 

The ARC (National Organization, Advocacy and Support Service)  http://www.thearc.org/
 
New Jersey State Library:
 

New Jersey State Library  http://www.njstatelib.org/  
Links are available to the Library for the Blind and the Handicapped, grants, Statewide Services Handbook, and Services to People with Disabilities
 
 Special Education: 
 

Special Education from About.com http://specialed.about.com/index.htm?terms=special+education
This website contains articles and links covering assessment, deafness, dyslexia, early intervention, fetal alcohol syndrome, inclusion, and gifted education.
 
Stuttering:
 

National Center for Stuttering http://www.stuttering.com

 
 



DISABILITIES-GENERAL: CONTACT INFORMATION
 

ADA (Americans with Disabilities Act)

  • ADA Title  I: Employment - For the appropriate field office in your geographic area, call (800) 669-4000     (800) 689-6820 (TTY)

  • ADA Title II: State and Local Government Activities-call (800) 514-0301 (voice)      (800) 514-0301 (TTY)

  • ADA Title II: Public Transportation -call (888) 446-4511 (voice/relay)  (202) 366-2285 (voice)     (202) 366-0153 (TTY)

  • ADA Title III: Public Accommodation - call (800) 514-0301 (voice)    (800) 514-0383(TTY)

  • ADA Title IV: Telecommunications Relay Services - call (888) 225-5322 (  Voice)     (888) 835-6322 (TTY)
     


AAPD (American Association of People with Disabilities) 1819 H Street, Suite 330, Washington, DC 20006.   Call 202-457-0046 (V/TTY)    800 840-8844 (Toll  Free V/TTY)   
 



Area Community Resources Camden County Guide: First Call for Help, Your link to community services. One call. Free and confidential.   (856) 663-2255,   1(800)331-7272
 



Camden County Office of Disabled Consumer Services
Camden County Administration Building, 600 Market Street, Camden, NJ 08102    877-222-3737 (V)    856 225-8889 (T)   856-225 5154 (Fax)  e-mail ccdsc@co.camden,nj,us  

Frequently used numbers (from their brochure):
 
ADA Complaint line  (800) 514-0301
Accesslink Para-transit (800) 955-2321
Camden County Board of Social Services 856-225-5000
Commission on the Blind and Visually Impaired (CBVI) (856) 482-3700
Division (State) of Developmental Disabilities (DDD)  (609) 631-2200  
Division of Motor Vehicle (Special tag unit) 856-486-3339
 Division of Vocational Rehabilitation - Camden (DVRS) 856-614-2500
 hireAbility 856-374-4921
Job Accommodation Network 800-526-7234
Lifeline PAAD - Energy and Pharmaceutical Assistance (800) 792-9745
New Jersey Protection and Advocacy (P&A) 800-922-7233
Occupational Training Services  973-672-5800
Office on Aging  1-800-367-6543
Presidents Committee for Employment of People with Disabilities 202-376-6200
Ramps Program 856 225-5306
SEN-HAN Transit 856-456-3344
Social Security Administration 800-772-1213
Special Child Health 856-374-6021
State Temporary Disability 609-292-7060
 



Community Resource Database Office:4212 Beacon Avenue, Pennsauken, NJ 08109-1430   (856)663-2888   e-mail uoss@uoss.com  
 



NARIC (National Rehabilitation Information Center) 4200 Forbes Boulevard, Suite 202, Lanham, MD 20706    (800) 346-2742, (301)459-5900

Browse NARIC databases by these subject pages:
 Autoimmune disorders,  Blindness/Visual impairments,  Deafness/hearing impairments,  Brain injuries,  Developmental disabilities,  Neurological/neuromuscular disorders,  Poliomyelitis,  Psychological disabilities,  Spinal cord injury,.  stroke,  ADA,  Any legislation/policy, Advocacy/Self-Help, Aging, Assistive technology, devices, Attitudes, Care Giving, Case Administration and management/counseling, Children/youth/infants, Education/school, Employment/transition to work, Evaluation/needs assessment /tests, Family issues, Home modification, Independent living/community integration, Information resources, International rehabilitation, Medical or rehabilitation, Medical rehabilitation/rehabilitation medicine, Mental health/self concept, Mobility issues
 


 
National Council for Independent Living, 2111 Wilson Blvd., Suite 405, Arlington, VA  22201  Call (202)207-0334; FAX :525-3409, TTD 525-3407; e-mail ncil@tsbbs02.tnet.com

 


 
New Jersey Self-Help Clearinghouse, 1(800)367-6274; Saint Clare's Health System, 100 E. Hanover Ave., Suite 202, Cedar Knolls, NJ 07927-2020
 


 

 


SPECIFIC DISABILITIES -CONTACT INFORMATION
 


 
Amputees:

American Amputee Foundation   501-666-2523 Little Rock, Arkansas
 



Assistive Technology:

Assistive  Listening Technology Loan Program, participating libraries:

  • Camden County Library, 203 Laurel Road, Voorhees, NJ 08043 (856) 772-1636

  • Gloucester County Library , 389 Wolfert Road, Mullica Hill NJ 08062 (856) 223-6000;

  • Montclair Public Library, 50 South Fullerton Avenue, Montclair, NJ 07042   (973) 744-05500; 

  • Morris County Library, 30 East Hanover Avenue, Whippany NJ 07981  (973) 285-6930;  

  • Ocean County Library, 101 Washington Street, Toms River, NJ 08753

  • Piscataway Public Library, 500 Hoes Lane, Piscataway NJ 08854 (732) 463-1633

Assistive Listening Systems bridge the gap between your ears and the sounds you do want to hear, while shutting out the noises you don’t.
 
New Jersey Technology Assistive Resource Program. 210 Broad Street, Third   Floor. Trenton, NJ 09608   609-633-7106 (TTY) or (800) 342-5832
 



Ataxia

National Ataxia Foundation   763-553-0020
 



Attention Deficit Disorder (ADD) /Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder(AD/HD):
  
 Attention Deficit Information Network    856-439-9099
 
CHADD (Children and Adults with Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder) 8181 Professional Place, Suite 201, Landover, MDD 20785    (800) 223-4050, Business (301) 306-7070, FAX (301) 306-7090  
 



Autism:

Autism Society of America, 7910 Woodmont Ave., Suite 650, Bethesda,  MD. 20914 Call  (800) 328-8476

Autism New Jersey   145-0 Parkside Ave, Suite 22, Ewing NJ 08638     Call 1-800-4-AUTISM
 



Blind and Visually Handicapped

 American Foundation for the Blind 1-800-232-5463
  
 Lighthouse International Center for Vision and Aging:  Call (800) 829-0500, e-mail jjenkins@lighthouse.org

 

New Jersey Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired 1-877-685-8878
 
 New Jersey Library for the Blind & Handicapped
Contact: The New Jersey Library for the Blind & Handicapped, 200 Stuyvesant Avenue, PO Box 501, Trenton NJ 08625   (609) 530 5400, (800) 792-8322. To lFree TTY (877)882-5593, Fax (609) 530-6834, e-mail njlbh@njstatelib.org
 
As quoted from their 2006 leaflet
The services of the Library for the Blind and the Handicapped are available to anyone who cannot read regularly printed books with ease.  Readers served by the library include:  (1)People prevented by paralysis, arthritis, cerebral palsy, and multiple sclerosis from holding a book or turning its pages, (2) People who are totally blind and many others with vision problems that make reading difficult, (3) Children and adults, men and women, people from all walks of life, (4) People with learning disabilities. Reference service covers such topics as blindness, visual impairments, independent living skills, the Americans with Disabilities Act, deafness, deaf culture, sign language, legal rights, telecommunication, parenting, learning disabilities, education for the learning disabled.    
 


 
Burn Survivors:

Burns United Support Group  Call (313) 881-5577, Fax 417-8702;  e-mail: burnsunited@hotmail.com
 
Burn survivor Resource Center 800-669-7700



Cerebral Palsy:
 United Cerebral Palsy Associations, Inc., 1600 L Street, NW, Suite 700, Washington DC, 20036-5603    (800) 872-5827, TTY 202) 542-1266
 



Cleft Palate:

Cleft Palate Foundation  800-242-5338
 



Deaf:  
 
American Society for Deaf Children, 2848 Arden Way, Suite 210, Sacramento, CA 95825-1373   Call 800 942-ASDC (voice, TTD) or 916 482-0120 , e-mail asdc@aol.com

American Tinnitus Association, P.O. Box 5, Portland OR 0-7207   Call (503) 248-9985 or (800) 634-8978
 
The Deaf and Hard of Hearing Awareness Program at the NJ Library for the Blind and Handicapped (DHHAP) Contact: P.O.Box 501, Trenton, NJ 08625-0501 TTY (877) 882-5593, Voice (609) 630-3957, (800) 792-8322, Fax (609) 530-6384  
A statewide federally funded grant program. Provides information and library service to people who are Deaf, Hard of Hearing, Late Deafened, their families , friends and professionals who work with them. Covers Deafness, Hearing Loss, deaf Cultures, Sign Language, and Sell-Help

National Association of the Deaf, 814 Thayer Ave., Silver Spring, MD 20910-4500   Call 301-587-17789 (TTD), 587-1788 (Voice), FAX 587-1791    
  
Regional libraries for the deaf and hard of hearing. Books, videotapes, magazines, and reference materials are available for one month loan. Materials may be requested through interlibrary loan by local, state and educational libraries. Catalog of resources available upon request. Assistive Devices: TTY's, Closed Caption Decoders, and other Assistive devices are available for one month loan. There are twelve Regional Resource Centers located throughout the state:
 

  • Atlantic County Library, 40Farragut Avenue, Mays Landing, NJ 08330  609-267-2776    email   jking@ asmail.aclink.org

  • Burlington County Library, 5 Pioneer Blvd., Westhampton, NJ 08060  609-267-9660    email   sthompson@burlco.lib.nj.us

  • Camden County Library, 203 Laurel Rd., Voorhees, NJ 08043  856-772-1636

  • Clifton Public Library, 292 Piaget Avenue, Clifton, NJ 07011    973-722-5500 email Ferro@palsplus.org 

  • Gloucester County Library, 389 Wolfert Station Road, Mulllica Hill NJ 08062    856-223-6000    email donnab@gels.org

  • Hunterdon County Library, Route 12, Flemington, NJ 08822  908-8064862  lmoore@hclhclibr.eclipse.ne

  • Monmouth County Library, 125 Symmes Drive, Manalapan, NJ 07726    732-788-1444    Contact ADA Coordinator

  • Montclair Public Library,  58 South Fullerton Ave., Montclair, NJ 07042  973-744-2349   email: amurphy@montlib.org

  • Morris County Library, 30 East Hanover Avenue, Whippany, NJ 07981    973-285-6930  email:stringer@main.morris.org

  • New Jersey Library for the Blind/Handicapped, 2300 Stuyvesant Avenue, PO Box 501, Trenton, NJ 08625  609-530-3957  email:dtoomey@njstatelib.org

  • Newark Public Library, 5 Washington Street, PO Box 630, Newark, NJ 07101      973-733-5648 Contact: Margaret George

  • Ocean County Library,101 Washington Street, Toms River, NJ  08753   732-349-6200   email: glanfield_d@oceancounty.lib.nj.usV0nO.Ocean County

  • Piscataway Public Library, 500 Howe Lane, Piscataway, NJ 98854   732-463-1633  e-mailsrawlins@lmaxac.org



Down Syndrome:

 National Down Syndrome Society 800-221-4602
 National Down Syndrome Congress 800-232-6372
 



Dyslexia:
International Dyslexia Association, 8600 LaSalle Rd, Chester Bldg, Suite 382, Baltimore, MD 21286-2044   (410) 296-0232, 1(800)-223-3123
 



Head Injury/ Brain Tumor/ Coma:

ABTA (American Brain Tumor Association) 2720 River Road, Suits 146, Des Plains, IL  60018    Call 847-827-9910, 800-886-2282, FAX 847-827-9918,   e-mail: abta@aol.com
 
National Brain Injury Foundation, 1776 Massachusetts Avenue, Suite 100, Washington, DC 20036  Call Family Helpline 800-444-NHIF or 202-296-6443, FAX  202-296-8850 
 


 
Learning Disabilities:
 
 Learning Disabilities Association of America.4156Library Road, Pittsburgh, PA 15234-1349    (412) 341-1515 (voice)   (412)344-0224 (FAX)
 
 National Adult Literacy and Learning Disabilities Center (NALLD), Academy for Educational Development, 1875 Connecticut Avenue, NW, Washington, DC 20009-1202  (202) 884-8900



Mental Retardation
 
The ARC  (National, 1200 chapters, Advocacy groups and direct services) 1010 Wayne Ave., Suite 650, Silver Springs, MD 20910  (301) 565-3842 TF (800) 433-5255
 
The ARC of New Jersey   908 Livingston Ave., North Brunswick, N.J.  08092  (732) 246-2525
 
Camden County United We Stand: self advocacy and peer support for disabled   adults.  C/O Occupational Training Center, 215 W. White Horse Pike, Berlin. NJ  08009   Call 856-768-0845 or 856-767-3650
 



Paralyzed Veterans:  

 Paralyzed Veterans of America, 801 18th St. NW, Washington, DC 20006. Call (202) 872-1300 of 1-800-555-9140
 



Special Education:

Office of Special Education , Dept. of Education, 100 Riverview Plaza, P.O.Box 500, Trenton, NJ 08614-0500    (609) 633-6833

Early Intervention Program for Infants and Toddlers with Disabilities: Ages Birth through 3, New Jersey Department of health and Senior Services, P.O. Box 363, Trenton, NJ 08625 (609) 777-7734
 



Spinal Cord Injury:
 National Spinal Cord Injury Association, 545 Concord Ave. Suite 14 Cambridge, MA 02138. Call (800) 962-9629 (Hotline only)  e-mail info@spinalcord.org



Stuttering:
  National Center for Stuttering, 200 E. 33rd St., New York, NY 10016   800-221-2483

 



http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/pathfinders/disabled.htm 
Questions and Comments:
Last Reviewed: July 21, 2009