| |
Printer-friendly
version
Employment
Resources
|
|
|
|
Megasites
for Job Hunting
Megasites attempt to compile all
of the best sites in a subject area. Please use these employment megasites
to access the majority of the career sites and job listings on the Internet.
Two of the sites on this list are highlighted (The Riley
Guide and WNJPIN) because they are
two of the best megasites for your employment search, but all of the
megasites include helpful information. Be aware that career sites will be
duplicated within the megasites. Consider the source of a site since the
source may determine the focus of the information. Sites created at colleges
or universities may be directed toward the needs of students, but may also
have helpful information for any job searcher.
Jobweb
http://www.jobweb.com
This site from the National Association of Colleges and Employers is a
springboard to career- and job-related sites that career services
professionals from around the world have found helpful in working with
college students and alumni. It includes: job listings, job search and
industry information, professional associations, career assessment tools,
career choice information, and more.
O*Net Online
http://online.onetcenter.org/
This site from the U.S. Department of Labor was
created for the general public-to provide broad access to the O*NET database of
occupational information on over 950 occupations. The O*NET database includes
information on skills, abilities, knowledges, work activities, and interests
associated with occupations. This information can be used to facilitate career
exploration, vocational counseling, and a variety of human resources functions,
such as developing job orders and position descriptions and aligning training
with current workplace needs. Each occupational title and code is based on the
most current version (1999) of the Standard Occupational Classification system
and the Dictionary of Occupational Titles (DOT).
Quintessential Careers
http://www.quintcareers.com/
"This site is designed to provide as much information and resources as
possible about jobs and careers for every kind of job seeker." Includes
resume, cover letter resources, and interviewing resources. Jobs can be
searched by industry, location and specialty group (women, minorities,
college students, teenagers, volunteers, and nonprofits).
The Riley Guide: Employment Opportunities and Job
Resources on the Internet
http://www.rileyguide.com/
This site, created by a librarian, has been named the best guide to
job-hunting sites on the Internet by both Yahoo! Internet Life magazine and
by Richard Bolles, author of What Color is Your Parachute?
What Color is Your Parachute?: Job
Hunting Online
http://www.jobhuntersbible.com/
This Net Guide by Dick Bolles is designed to be a companion to his book What
Color Is Your Parachute? which is possibly the best-selling job-hunting book
in the world. You will find up-to-date information about which Internet
sites are most helpful with links to those sites. The Guide is presented as
a free service to job-hunters and career-changers everywhere.
WNJPIN
(Workforce
New Jersey Personnel Information Network)
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/wnjpin/wnjpin_index.html
This is a wonderful site containing lots of information and jobs all over
the country. WNJPIN is sponsored through a U.S. Department of Labor One-Stop
Career Center grant. "The purpose of the Workforce New Jersey Public
Information Network is to enable workers, students, and those seeking
employment, as well as the employer community, to access a rich variety of
information including: education, employment opportunities, training
opportunities, labor market information, job search tools, and social
services." Includes links for job listings, job fairs, career descriptions,
unemployment information, occupational licensing, college and graduate
school information, and job search tools. Job searchers can post a resume
and employers can read resumes. The job listings page includes sites for New
Jersey jobs and specialized sites for specific occupations. You will also
find the major job search tools on the Internet, sites for searching
classified ads, and federal employment sites.
Yahoo Employment
http://careers.yahoo.com/
Search by
location, company, job title, or keyword or browse by location. Also
includes Resume Post. The Yahoo Careers
page includes links for specific jobs sites and search firms,
Job Fairs and
Seasonal and Summer Employment.
Return
to menu
|
|
The New Jersey/Pennsylvania/Delaware Job Hunt
Delaware
Employment Opportunities (from the State of Delaware)
http://delawarestatejobs.com/
Search for Delaware state government jobs.
Guide to Labor Demand Occupations (NJ)
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/lpa/lbrdmand/LaborDemand_index.html
Indeed.com
http://www.indeed.com
Indeed.com includes all the job listings from major job boards, newspapers,
associations and company career pages. Search by keyword and location in a
Google-like search.
Job Hunter (from Philadelphia Newspapers)
http://www.philly.com/philly/jobs/
Search jobs from the Inquirer, Daily News, and PhillyTech or post your resume. Includes
cost of living calculator, career resource center, job fairs, and more.
Job
Listings on the Internet (from Workforce New Jersey)
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/wnjpin/findjob/findjobindex.html
This site includes New Jersey jobs and specialized sites for specific occupations. You
will also find the major job search tools on the Internet, sites for searching classified
ads, and federal employment sites.
New Jersey Labor
Market Information (and assorted statistics)
http://lwd.dol.state.nj.us/labor/lpa/LMI_index.html
There is a great deal of statistical information
at this site, with a focus on economic and employment data. You will find wage
surveys, employment and labor force forecasts, economic indicators, labor market
reviews, demographic data, occupational safety information, employer listings,
income and poverty data, and more.
NJCareers
http://www.njcareers.com/
"This site features free career advice provided by New Jersey based executive
recruiters and personnel staffing experts." It includes a job bank menu, a resume
bank menu, career advice, career fairs, and a link to .
Pennsylvania Employment Opportunities (from
the State of Pennsylvania)
http://www.state.pa.us/
This site includes the Pennsylvania Job Center, information about civil service jobs, and
job openings in specific state departments. The Team PA CareerLink is "Pennsylvania's
one-stop on-line resource for job seeker services, employer services, social services and
training".
New Jersey Department of Personnel
http://www.state.nj.us/personnel/
Includes Civil Service job vacancy announcements for State, County and Municipal jobs.
New Jersey
Unemployment Insurance Claim
http://www.njuifile.net
The New Jersey Department of Labor has created
this web site which enables New Jersey workers to file a new claim for
Unemployment Insurance Benefits or reopen an existing Unemployment Insurance
Claim over the Internet.
Return to
menu
|
|
Selected Career Sites
Because the megasites provide links to the
employment resources on the Internet, there is no need to list them individually here. The
sites listed below have been selected with the intention of providing a small collection
of specific sites which might be of interest to all job searchers or to those with
specific needs. This list is not intended to be comprehensive. Please consult the megasites for a comprehensive search.
Academic360.com
http://www.academic360.com/
Academic360.com is a meta-collection of Internet resources that have been gathered for the
academic job hunter. It includes links to faculty, staff, and administrative announcements
and is not restricted to teaching positions. This is "one of the most extensive
sites devoted to employment opportunities in higher education available on the
Internet".
All Nursing Schools
http://www.allnursingschools.com/find/
Find information about nursing schools. Search by
location and degree sought. The FAQ section has useful information about nursing
as a career, nursing education, and nursing specialties.
Career Fields
(from Yahoo)
http://careers.yahoo.com/
College Grad Job Hunter
http://www.collegegrad.com/findjobs/
Based on the book with the same title, this site includes preparation, job postings,
resumes and cover letters, and interviews and negotiations.
Career Voyages:
http://www.careervoyages.gov/
This web site was created by the U.S. Department
of Labor and the U.S. Department of Education and provides information about
careers in the fastest growing industries. It also has information on wages, job
growth rates, and educational requirements. This is a great tool for young
adults and career changers.
EOP,
Inc. (Equal Opportunity Publications)
http://www.eop.com/
EOP helps job-seekers from underrepresented groups (women, members of minority groups, and
people with disabilities) find employment and aids companies and government agencies eager
to recruit from this diversified workforce.
FedWorld: Federal Jobs
http://www.fedworld.gov/jobs/jobsearch.html
International Job Centers
http://www.jerryeden.com/ijc/index.html
National Association for the
Self-Employed
http://www.nase.org/
National Opportunity NOCs: Nonprofit
Organization Classifieds
http://www.opportunitynocs.org/
Nonprofit Career Center
http://www.idealist.org/career.html
Includes jobs and internships in the U.S. and worldwide, other nonprofit job resources,
professional associations, volunteer opportunities, and more.
Nonprofit
Career Network
http://www.nonprofitcareer.com/
Nonprofit
Jobs
http://pnnonline.org/jobs/
Provided by Philanthropy Journal Online.
Services for People with Disabilities
http://www.deed.state.mn.us/rehab/
Includes preparing for work, accommodating jobs, and finding and keeping work.
State
Search: Employment Services
https://www.nascio.org/
USA
Jobs (Federal Government Jobs)
http://www.usajobs.opm.gov/
Provided by the U.S. Office of Personnel Management, this site includes summer jobs. You
can apply for these jobs on the Web site.
Return to
menu
|
|
Resumes,
Letters, & Interviewing
Guide to Resume Writing
http://www.jobweb.com/resumes.aspx?folderid=142
How to Write a Masterpiece of
a Resume
http://www.rockportinstitute.com/resumes.html
Interview Network
http://www.job-interview.net/
This site is devoted entirely to interviewing and includes tips for both the prospective
employee and for the employer conducting the interview. Especially helpful are the links
for interview tips for specific jobs and the collection of more than 600 questions
organized by job function and keyword.
Interview Tips
http://career-advice.monster.com/
Interviewing and Resume Information
(from Mississippi State University)
http://www.msstate.edu/Dept/Coop/interview.html
Includes cover letters, resumes, and interviewing.
Job
Search Tools (from Workforce New Jersey)
http://www.wnjpin.state.nj.us/jobseeker.html
Networking
http://career-advice.monster.com/career-networking/home.aspx
Resumes and Letters
http://career-advice.monster.com/resume-tips/home.aspx
Resumes (from JobStar California)
http://jobstar.org/tools/resume/index.php
Discusses different types of resumes, provides examples of good resumes and cover letters,
and leads you to other resume writing sites on the Internet.
Return to
menu
|
|
Online
Resumes
eResumes 101
http://www.eresumes.com/
From the author of Electronic Resumes & Online Networking: How to Use the Internet to
Do a Better Job Search, Including a Complete, Up-to-Date Resource Guide, this is an
excellent site on online resumes. It includes a gallery of resumes, information about the
book, and links to employment sites as well. (Note: be sure to scroll
down to see information)
The Online Job Application
http://www.rileyguide.com/eresume.html
From The Riley Guide, this site includes a good outline of types
of electronic resumes and step-by-step instructions for preparing a mail version, a
scannable version and an Internet version.
Return to
menu
|
|
Create an Online E-mail Account
An e-mail account is often necessary for sending resumes to potential
employers. This is a two-part webcast (a short movie with narration) that
the library has created on creating and using a free online e-mail account.
Creating a
Yahoo E-mail Account, Part 1 - Signing up for an account
Creating a Yahoo!
E-mail Account, Part 2 - Using Your New Account
Resources for the Job Hunt
America's Career InfoNet
http://www.acinet.org/acinet/
Provides a general outlook of the U.S. job market, wages and trends occupation-search,
state profile search, and a career resource library.
The Best Places to Live (from Money
Magazine)
http://money.cnn.com/best/bplive/
Includes a great screening tool where you can search a database of information about
America's 300 largest metro areas to find the best spot to live, work or play. 63 factors
relating to weather, economy, housing, health, education, crime, transportation, leisure
and arts and culture are provided in a questionnaire format. You receive a list of
locations which most closely match your requirements. You can also compare the cost of
living in any two cities.
Ferguson's
Career Guidance Center - from Facts on File
Library card required. Provides profiles of more than 2,050 of today's
most popular jobs in more than 94 industries. Under "Careers" click on
Ferguson's Career Center.
Finding a Job and Evaluating a Job Offer
http://stats.bls.gov/oco/oco2004.htm
Hints from the Occupational Outlook Handbook.
Hidden Job Market
http://jobstar.org/hidden/index.htm
Many jobs are never advertised. This site provides tips on how to find out about these
positions.
Job
Hunting Advice (from the Wall Street Journal)
http://www.careerjournal.com/jobhunting/
Provides articles on resumes and cover letters, interviewing, salary negotiation,
utilizing the Internet, making a career change, surviving a job loss, relocating, and
more.
Relocation Assistance (from
Homefair)
http://www.homefair.com/Moving_and_Planning/moveplanner/landing.asp
Includes information to assist you with relocating including a salary calculator and
moving calculator, community information (school reports, city reports, community
comparisons), and consumer information (getting the best mortgage, buying a home,
organizing to move, choosing where to live, etc.).
Research
Companies
http://company.monster.com/
Salary.com
http://salary.com/
This site includes a salary wizard which provides a low, median, and high
salary for locations by zip code or name. It also provides a brief job description
of the job.
Salary Information
http://jobstar.org/tools/salary/index.htm
Includes over 200 salary surveys, both general and profession-specific, and hints on how
to negotiate.
State and Local Government on the Net
http://www.statelocalgov.net/
Links to state, local, territorial, and Native American executive, legislative, and
judicial web pages.
World Chambers Network
http://www.worldchambers.com/
The Internet's most complete index of Chambers of Commerce all over the world.
Return to
menu
|
|
Career Information
Career Development Manual
(University of Waterloo)
http://www.cdm.uwaterloo.ca/
The Career Key
http://www.careerkey.org/english/
Complete this assessment tool to learn which jobs match your personality.
Career Resource Library
http://www.acinet.org/acinet/crl/library.aspx
Provided by America's Career InfoNet, this site includes occupational information, job
search aids, and relocation information.
Career Search: How Do I Decide
on a Career?
http://www.collegeboard.com/csearch/majors_careers/profiles/index.html
Guides for Specific Careers
http://jobstar.org/tools/career/spec-car.htm
Locate sites for information about specific careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
http://www.bls.gov/oco/
From the Bureau of Labor Statistics, this online government document is the primary source
for in depth information about specific careers including: nature of the work; working
conditions; employment, training, other qualifications, and advancement; job outlook;
earnings; related occupations; and sources of additional information such as professional
organizations.
The
Self-Directed Search
http://www.self-directed-search.com/
The SDS is a self-directed guide to career planning commonly used by career counselors. It
is offered at this site, for a small fee. It can help you to discover which of six types
(Realistic, Investigative, Artistic, Social, Enterprising, or Conventional) you are most
like and to determine which occupations or fields of study are likely to match your
individual type. You can view information about each type and which occupations relate to
it without taking the assessment. Tips on how to find a career counselor are included.
Wages and Trends: Occupation Search
http://www.acinet.org/acinet/select_occupation.asp?stfips=&next=occ_rep
Return to
menu
|
Online Career Publications
Career
Magazine
http://www.careermag.com/
Designed to meet the needs of online job seekers, this publication includes job openings,
articles, a resume bank, and more.
Equal
Opportunity Publications
http://eop.com/index.html
"Since 1968, Equal Opportunity Publications, Inc. (EOP) has led the way from
affirmative action to diversity recruitment by publishing career magazines for women,
members of minority groups, and people with disabilities." View web pages for Equal
Opportunity, Woman Engineer, Minority Engineer, Careers and the Disabled, Workforce
Diversity for Engineering and IT Professionals, and Information Technology Career World.
Includes job searching and a resume database.
Job Choices Online
http://www.jobweb.com/newsletter.aspx
An electronic magazine that presents career information and job-search advice to college
students and recent graduates and sponsored by the National Association of Colleges and
Employers.
Return to menu
See also:
Employment Recommended Websites
Questions or comments? E-mail the or call 856-772-1636.
Feedback
Last Reviewed:
July 21, 2009 |