Camden County Library System

Library Branches

Divider Line

Subject Guides: Environmental Resources

Divider Line

"Yet nature's charms-the hills and woods-
The sweeping vales and foaming floods-
Are free alike to all."

-Robert Burns, from the poem "To Chloris"

General Sources Data Sources Selected Topics Usenet/Listservs EPA Documents Organizations Laws/Regs/Decisions

General Environmental Reference Sources/Catalogs/Directories

These links point to websites that are good starting points for general research. Included in this section are catalog sites (organized by topic), all-in-one search sites, directories, and basic reference tools.

  • EPA Homepage
    http://www.epa.gov
    The EPA homepage is a great place to start. There are links to current events, newsletters, speeches, regulatory updates. Links are also organized by intended audience: kids, teachers, business, citizens and scientists. A much improved site!

Return to Menu


Data Sources/Query Forms

There is lots of hard environmental data available out there. Links have been provided to the data that is most requested. Often, more than one site provides links to the same data. In such cases, I have linked to the sites that have the easiest interfaces. There are a number of websites that let you search for hazardous sites, then generate a map that shows poverty levels, minority populations, schools, etc. in the surrounding area.

  • AIRWeb (EPA) Air Pollution Data
    http://www.epa.gov/air/data/index.html
    AIRWeb gives you access to air pollution data for the entire United States. Want to know the highest ozone level measured in your state last year? Ever wonder where air pollution monitoring sites are located? Are there sources of air pollution in your town? This is the place to find out! AIRWeb creates custom reports using criteria that you specify, displays standard maps of the United States, and provides names of people to contact.

  • Chemical Score Card
    http://www.scorecard.org/
    Another simple database that allows you to search by zip code. Created by the Environmental Defense Fund, this site neatly ties together EPA data, makes it easy to search, and presents it in a user-friendly, yet detailed and powerful format. A MUST SEE.

  • National Environmental Scorecard
    http://www.lcv.org/scorecard/

    The League of Conservation Voters has compiled this scorecard since 1970 and now it is available to you via the Internet. The Scorecard provides a score for all members of Congress based on their voting record on environmental legislation. You can search for legislators who represent you or those who represent your state, or view all Senators and Representatives. The Scorecard also allows you to search by various criteria such as gender, party affiliation and region or state a Congressman comes from.

  • RTK NET
    http://www.rtknet.org/

    RTK NET was started in 1989 in support of the Emergency Planning and Community Right to Know Act (EPCRA), which mandated public access to the Toxic Release Inventory. It is operated by two nonprofit organizations--OMB Watch and The Unison Institute--and funded by various government agencies and foundations. Good general links, as well as excellent links to data sources.

Return to Menu


Selected Topical Sites

These links are to web pages that deal with broad but specific environmental topics such as solid waste, pollution prevention and air quality. They are good places to start if you know are researching a particular subject.

  • BrownFields (EPA) Homepage
    http://www.epa.gov/swerosps/bf/
    Brownfields are abandoned, idled, or under-used industrial and commercial facilities where expansion or redevelopment is complicated by real or perceived environmental contamination. This website is maintained by the EPA Office of Solid Waste and Emergency response, and has many useful links to Brownfields information.

  • Underground Storage Tanks (EPA) Homepage
    http://www.epa.gov/swerust1/
    This is The Office of Underground Storage Tanks (OUST) site on the web. Their goal in establishing this site is to provide current information relevant to the Federal underground storage tank program. There are useful links to past and current UST regulations and other relevant sites.

  • Water (EPA) Homepage
    http://www.epa.gov/OW/
    The EPA Office of Water Homepage. Links to various information services including newsletters and listservs. Also has links to laws and regulations, water quality data, policy guidance, and available trainings and conferences. One of the better EPA pages.

Return to Menu


Usenet/Listservs
Listservs and newsgroups are a great way to stay current and have discussions with others who are interested in similar topics. Both listservs and newsgroups are invaluable forums for gathering information and networking with peers and experts.

Return to Menu


EPA Documents and Library Holdings: Searching and Ordering
The EPA generates an amazing amount of publicly available data and information. Many documents and reports are available from from NCEPI. Others are available free from EPA offices. In addition, EPA libraries all across the country will interlibrary loan materials to you. Use OLS (the EPA's online catalog) to search for materials.

  • NCEPI
    http://www.epa.gov/ncepihom/
    Environmental Protection Agency's National Center for Environmental Publications and Information. Provides over 5000 EPA publications available in hardcopy and multimedia product, free of charge. You can browse the National EPA Publications Catalog and order documents online.

  • US EPA Online Library System (OLS)
    http://www.epa.gov/natlibra/ols.htm
    OLS is a web-based library catalog for the libraries of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency. You can search OLS for materials held in EPA Libraries. Once you have identified a document, you should search the NSCEP site to see if it is available free of charge. If NSCEP can't provide it, you can request the item through interlibrary loan.

Return to Menu


Environmental Organizations
Environmental organizations can also be a great source of information. These links don't always point to the best web pages, per se. But these organizations are at the forefront of environmental science and public policy.

  • Americans for the Environment (AFE)
    http://www.undueinfluence.com/afe.htm
    AFE is a non-profit organization dedicated to helping citizen activists use the political process to solve environmental problems, providing Americans concerned about the environment with the knowledge and skills needed to participate effectively in the electoral process.

  • Environmental Defense Fund
    http://www.edf.org

    EDF is dedicated to protecting the environmental rights of all people, including future generations. Among these rights are clean air, clean water, healthy, nourishing food, and a flourishing ecosystem. Website is good for current articles and information.

  • Environmental Hazards Management Institute
    http://www.ehmi.org

    EHMI is a global organization of environmental, health and safety experts with more than 110 locations in Asia, Australia, Europe, North America and South America. Together they total 2,400 professionally qualified staff. They have built their international team using a set of common principals: technical excellence, professional integrity and a commitment to providing quality service. They work with clients to create sound environmental, health and safety programs.

  • Environmental Working Group
    http://www.ewg.org

    The Environmental Working Group (EWG) is a leading content provider for public interest groups and concerned citizens who are campaigning to protect the environment. Good links, with focus on law and policy.

  • The Nature Conservancy
    http://nature.org/
    The mission of Nature Conservancy is to preserve plants, animals and natural communities that represent the diversity of life on Earth by protecting the lands and waters they need to survive. The Nature Conservancy operates the largest private system of nature sanctuaries in the world--more than 1,500 preserves in the United States alone.

  • The Sierra Club
    http://www.sierraclub.org

    The Sierra Club is a non-profit, member-supported, public interest organization that promotes conservation of the natural environment by influencing public policy decisions: legislative, administrative, legal and electoral. Links to general news and an online version of Sierra Magazine.

  • World Resources Institute
    http://www.wri.org
    The World Resources Institute's mission is to move human society to live in ways that protect Earth's environment and its capacity to provide for the needs and aspirations of current and future generations. Because people are inspired by ideas, empowered by knowledge, and moved to change by greater understanding, WRI provides - and helps other institutions provide - objective information and practical proposals for policy and institutional change that will foster environmentally sound, socially equitable development.

Return to Menu



Government Regulations/Laws and Decisions
Links to government statutes and regulations, both current and proposed. There are also links to Environmental Appeals Board decisions, and the EPA docket which contains the records of all civil cases and EPA administrative actions. Records of Decision (RODS) are documents that summarize the condition of Superfund sites, and specify what the polluters need to do to clean the site up.

  • DOCKET -- EPA Civil Court Cases and Administrative Actions
    http://www.epa.gov/dockets/

    Sponsored by RTK net. EPA's Civil Docket database (DOCKET) contains records about all civil cases filed by the Department of Justice on behalf of EPA. It contains records about all cases starting from the beginning of EPA until now. However, it doesn't contain records of criminal cases (which are more serious than civil cases) or records of EPA administrative actions and penalties (which are less serious).

  • Records of Decisions (RODS) Abstracts
    http://www.epa.gov/superfund/sites/rods/index.htm

    The ROD is a public document signed by the appropriate Regional Administrator which details cleanup, cost estimates, and EPA's responsiveness to the public comment summary. The purpose of an EPA Record of Decision is to evaluate a Superfund Site with the goal of protecting human health and the environment while ensuring consistency of evaluations in contamination and clean-up of all Superfund sites.

Back to Subject Guides

  

Revised 2/11

 


Search the library website.
  
Search for books, DVDs...