|
Health and Medicine
Printer-friendly version
The issue of health and
medicine is a very popular topic in the library. It is important
to remember that any of the materials suggested in this list
should only be used as a supplementary source of information. Any
questions or uneasiness about a disease, symptoms, treatment, or
medication should be directed to a healthcare professional.
Supersites
Web Resources:
Healthy NJ - information for Healthy
Living
Information on Health and Wellness, Diseases and Conditions, Just for
Kids, and Health in NJ. Resources also available in Spanish.
Physicians
/ Hospitals
Finding the right doctor is an important decision. The books
and web sites listed below are places to go to check the
schooling and affiliation of physicians and specialists.
Print Resources:
American Hospital Association (AHA) guide to the health care field.
- Please ask at the
Reference Desk
A guide to U.S. hospitals, health care systems, networks, alliances, health
organizations, agencies and providers.
Dorlands Medical Directory - Please ask at the Reference
Desk.
A directory of physicians in the Delaware Valley.
Directory of Physicians in the United States - Ref
610.2573 Dir
The entries in this directory are arranged by state and include
academic and affiliation information.
Official ABMS Directory of Board Certified Medical Specialists
- Ref 610.6952
This directory is by specialty and then geographically and
includes a master index by name of physician. The entry physician
entry gives birth date, academic and affiliation information.
Best Doctors in America - Northeast Region 1996-1997 - Ref
610.2573
The doctors for this book were compiled from recommendations and
nominations by other physicians. The list is set up by state and
then specialty.
Questionable Doctors (New Jersey, Pennsylvania and New York)
- Ref 610.6952 Que
Web Resources:
American Medical Association-Directory of
Physicians
http://www.ama-assn.org/aps/amahg.htm
This internet site provides
physician data for more than 650,000 doctors of medicine and
doctors of osteopathy or osteopathic medicine. This site also
includes information on diseases and illnesses.
ALSO TRY
To verify Board Certified Doctors try:
http://www.ama-assn.org/aps/amahg.htm
NJ Physicians Licensee Directory and Disciplinary Indication
http://www.state.nj.us/lps/ca/bme/docdir.htm
Martindale's Health Science Guide
The Virtual Pharmacy Center
http://www.martindalecenter.com/
This site provides links to
physicians and hospitals worldwide. It also has a directory of
links to sites dealing with drugs that are being developed, and
newly approved drugs on the market.
Return
to Menu
Drugs and Medications
Descriptions of prescription and over-the-counter medication
such as dosage, side effects and other information can be located
in the following books and web sites. The drug can be searched by
both generic and brand names.
Print Resources:
Complete Drug Reference -
Ref 615.1 Com
Physicians Desk Reference (PDR)- Please ask at the
Reference Desk
Physician Desk Reference for
Non-prescription Drugs - Ref 615.1 Phy
USPDI Advice for the
PatientDrug Information in Lay Language
Ref
615.11 USPDI SEE ALSO:
EbscoHost
electronic version
Web Resources:
Drug Checker (Dr. Koop's website)
http://www.drugs.com/data/channel/md/drkoop.cfm?type=1
This service allows you to take the preventive step of determining whether the drugs you are taking
interact with each other, or interact with a certain food, and cause a bad reaction in your body. Can
also be used to find general information on specific drugs.
MedicineNet
http://www.medicinenet.com
An extensive and well-designed medical site. Sections
include: Diseases and Conditions; Procedures and Tests; Medications; First
Aid; Poison Control. There is also an continually updated medical dictionary
that is written for the layperson as well as the doctor.
PDR
Family Guide
http://www.pdrhealth.com/home/home.aspx
This is the online version of the Physicians'
Desk Reference. Information on drugs and supplements, diseases and conditions,
Health Source - Consumer Edition
(Through EbscoHost)
Provides information on many health topics including the
medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and
general health. Must have library card # to access outside of library.
Medline Plus
http://medlineplus.gov
Includes information from the U.S. National Library of Medicine and the National
Institutes of Health on prescription and nonprescription drugs.
Return
to Menu
Diseases and Illnesses
The books and web sites listed below are general medical
reference materials. They provide basic information such as a
description of the symptoms and signs, diagnosis and recommended
treatment on various diseases and illnesses.
Print Resources:
Current Medical Diagnosis & Treatment - Please ask at
the Reference Desk
Merck Manual - Please ask at the Reference Desk
The manual is by type of disease and provides a description of
the symptoms and recommended treatment. It is also available on
the Internet at http://www.merck.com.
Everything You Need to
Know About Diseases - Ref 616 Eve
This medical book is written in layman's terms and easy to
understand language.
Dictionary of Medical Syndromes - Ref 616.072 Mag
Web Resources:
National Cancer Institute
http://www.cancer.gov/
This site is designed for "anyone with a question on cancer, in
particular: patients, caregivers, health care professionals, researchers and
others." Information on this site is reviewed and revised regularly by
experts in oncology and related specialties and is based on the latest research
in the field.
Oncolink-University of Pennsylvania
http://cancer.med.upenn.edu
Provides information for
patients, their families and other healthcare professionals on
many areas of cancer.
Medline Plus
http://medlineplus.gov/
Extensive information from the U.S. National Library of
Medicine and the National Institutes of Health on over 600 diseases and
conditions. There are also lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical
encyclopedia and a medical dictionary, health information in Spanish, extensive
information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, health information from
the media, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
Healthfinder
http://www.health.gov/healthypeople/healthfinder/
Consumer oriented web site
that has links to information on a variety of health related
issues.
Health A to Z
http://www.healthatoz.com
An Internet navigation tool
and information resource in health and medicine.
HealthyNJ
http://www.healthynj.org/
HealthyNJ is a product of the University Libraries
at the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey. Developed by
librarians to meet the healthcare information needs of consumers, particularly
the citizens of New Jersey, policy makers, and health care professionals.
MedicineNet
http://medicinenet.com
Health information provided by
a network of U.S. Board Certified Physicians working together to
provide the public with current, comprehensive medical
information, written in easy to understand language. Medicinenet also has
great information on Procedures
and Tests
Return
to Menu
Journal & Magazine Articles
Print Resources:
Check at Reference Desk for subject listing of
medical journals.
Web Resources:
EBSCOhost
Magazine Index offers Health Source
Plus Index provides full text access to over 265 medical
journals, searchable full text for nearly 1,070 health-related pamphlets, the
full text of the USP Pharmacopoeia DI: Volume II Advice for the Lay Patient
and the full text of the Stedman's Medical Dictionary.
http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/pathfinders/healthpath.htm
Questions and Comments:
Last Updated
July 21, 2009
, No expiration date
|