|
| Federal Law | Federal Cases | New Jersey Law | New Jersey Cases | Other States | Foreign Law | Miscellaneous |
The Camden County Library owns complete and current collections of both New Jersey and federal laws & regulations. We also own selected New Jersey and federal case law. If you are unable to visit our Voorhees location, or we do not own the resource you need, try the Internet. The Internet has several helpful legal resources courtesy of government agencies, law schools and universities. We have provided links to a selection of these Internet resources below.
United States Code Annotated
contains the text of current federal laws and is available on the web provided by Cornell University, as well as in the Reference Department at Ref 348.7323 Uni.Code of Federal Regulations
contains the text of current federal rules and regulations and is located in the Reference Department at Ref 348.7323 Code. Portions of the CFR are available on the Internet at the Government Printing Office's web site.Federal Register
Contains the text of proposed an new passed federal rules and regulations. It is available on microfiche in the Periodicals Department. It is also available on the Government Printing Office's web site.U.S. Code, Congressional and Administrative News
Contains the text of federal laws in their original form (we own 1972 through the present) plus legislative history. It is available in the Reference Department at Ref 348.7323 Uni.Thomas: Legislative Information on the Internet
allows searching of current legislation by topic, title, and bill number. It also includes public laws, congressional record and committee information, including reports.
Federal Cases:
(Findlaw is a good general starting point)Supreme Court Reporter (SupCt) -- Ref 348.7341 Sup
The Supreme Court Reporter contains the decisions of the Supreme Court. We own 1963-present.West's Supreme Court Digest -- Ref 348.046 Uni
West's Supreme Court Digest is used to search for Supreme Court cases by subject.Supreme Court Decisions
Links current Supreme Court decisions (May 1990 - present) and selected historic decisions provided by Project Hermes.Supreme Court Decisions
Links to Supreme Court Decisions 1893 - present provided by Findlaw.Other Federal Courts:
The Federal Court Locator
Links to federal case law (generally covers 1994/95 - present) including Courts of Appeals and the Supreme Court.United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit
Opinions issued by the United States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit since May 1994. Provided by Villanova University.
Findlaw
Links to various Federal Courts (appeals/circuit, tax,bankruptcy).Other Federal Legal Resources:
Federal Rules of Court
Links to court rules including the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure and the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure. Provided by the Litigators Internet Resource Guide.Federal Tax Regulations -- Ref 343.05 Fed
Shepard's Acts and Cases -- Ref 348.04 She
Used to find the USCA and/or public law citation when you only know the name of the act. Also helps with legislative history.Internal Revenue Code -- Ref 343.04 Uni
Print Resources:
New Jersey Statutes Annotated (NJSA) -- NJ Ref 348.022 New
The current laws of the State of New Jersey.Laws of New Jersey -- NJ Ref 340.022 New
Laws in their original form (before being codified into NJSA.)New Jersey Administrative Code (NJAC) -- NJ Ref 348.025 New
Current state rules and regulations.New Jersey Register (NJR) -- on the Periodicals shelf in the NJ Room
Proposed and newly passed rules and regulations.Web Resources:
New Jersey Legislature Home Page
Includes online versions of the New Jersey Statutes Annotated (NJSA), New Jersey Chapter Laws (1996-1998) and Bills (1996-97 & 1998-99.)
New Jersey Cases:
(Findlaw is a good general starting point)Print Resources:
New Jersey Reports (NJ) -- NJ Ref. 348.043 New
New Jersey Supreme Court decisions.New Jersey Superior Court Reports (NJ Super) -- NJ Ref. 348.043 New
New Jersey Superior Court decisions.West's New Jersey Digest 2nd -- NJ Ref. 348.026 Wes
Used to search for New Jersey case law by subject.Shepard's New Jersey Citations -- NJ Ref. 348.047 She
Index that allows you see what has happened to a case over time (ex. has it been overturned?)Web Resources:
New Jersey Rules of Court
Links to New Jersey court rules. Searchable by keyword.New Jersey Law Network
A excellent collection of links to New Jersey legal resources.New Jersey State Courts
Information from NJ State Courts as well as links to court decisions online from other states.Opinions of the New Jersey Courts
Full-text archive of the opinions of the New Jersey Courts, including the Supreme Court, (since March, 1994), Appellate Division and Tax Court (both since September, 1995), as well as, New Jersey Administrative Law Decisions. [Point & click on the "Primary Docs" link to access this information.] Provided by Rutgers University-Camden Law Library.
New Jersey State Courts
Links to court decisions online from other states (where available.)Rules of Court
Links to state court rules (where available.)
The U.S. House of Representatives Internet Law Library
Links to U.S. federal laws, state laws (where available), treaties and international law.Foreign & International Law Web
Links to primary foreign and international legal resources, research aids, and sites useful in conducting research in these areas of the law. A service of the Washburn University School of Law.
Print Resources:
Black's Law Dictionary --at the Reference Desk
Definintions of legal terms.BNA Policy and Practice Series -- Ref 344.005
Legal information focused on employment policies and practices.CCH Standard Federal Tax Reporter -- Ref 343.04 Com
Corpus Juris Secundum -- Ref 348.026 Cor
Legal encyclopedia.Martindale-Hubbell Law Directory -- Ref 340 Mar
Directory of lawyers and law firms. Also available on the webNew Jersey Lawyers Diary -- at the Reference Desk
Directory of NJ lawyers and courts.Web Resources:
Findlaw
Subject guide to Internet legal resources. Includes a search engine for legal information named LawCrawler.
Return to Menu
http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/pathfinders/legalpath.htm
Questions and Comments:
Last Updated July 21, 2009
, No expiration date