See
also: Literary Criticism: Shakespeare
Books
you can take with you are in this number range:
800 Literature
810 American Literature in English
820 English and Old English Literature
830 Literatures of Germanic Languages
840 Literatures of Romance Languages
850 Italian, Romanian, Rhaeto-Romanic
literatures
860 Spanish and Portuguese Literatures
870 Latin and Old Latin Literatures
880 Hellenic literatures, Classical Greek
890 Literatures of Other Languages
When searching our catalog use these
subjects:
Literature, modern - 20th century - history and
criticism
Literature, modern - 19th century - history and
criticism
Author's last name, First name - look for
subheading criticism and interpretation
(e.g. Angelou, Maya - criticism and
interpretation)
Helpful reference books: (All books
located at Voorhees)
These books located in Literary Criticism
Section:
Contemporary Authors
Something About the Author
Dictionary of Literary Biography
Classical and Medieval Criticism
Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism
Twentieth Century Literary Criticism
Contemporary Literature Criticism
Shakespearean Criticism
These books shelved with general reference
collection:
Masterplots - Ref 809
Facts on File Bibliography of American Fiction
- Ref 016.8135
Suggested magazine and journal indexes:
Electronic:
Discovering Collection - Literature Search - from Gale
Literary Reference Center - from Ebscohost
Literary
Reference Center - from Facts on File
Literature
Resource Center - from Gale
Websites:
Critical Reading: A Guide
http://www.brocku.ca/english/jlye/criticalreading.html
Guides form a useful framework to help beginning
students think critically about the literature
they are reading.
Online Literary Criticism Collection
http://www.ipl.org/div/subject/browse/hum60.20.00/
Links the user to over 1,000 critical and
biographical Web sites on literary criticism
dealing with American and British literature
from pre-1500 to the twentieth century. This Web
site was created by the staff of the Internet
Public Library
Literary Criticism on the Net
http://andromeda.rutgers.edu/~jlynch/Lit/
Links are broken down by time
period. Site is maintained by Jack Lynch at
Rutgers University.
Voices of the
Shuttle
http://vos.ucsb.edu/index.asp
VoS has provides coverage of literature
resources: authors, works, projects, course
syllabi, criticism and critics, journals, mail
lists and newsgroups, and conferences and calls
for papers. The site is maintained by Professor
Alan Liu at the University of California at
Santa Barbara.
Literary Index -
Gale Group
http://www.galenet.com/servlet/LitIndex
Use this index to search by author or title in
the Gale Literary Series. The library has the
following titles in the series: Contemporary
Authors, Dictionary of Literary Biography,
Shakespearean Criticism, Classical and Medieval
Criticism, Literature Criticism 1400 to 1800,
Nineteenth Century Literature Criticism,
Twentieth Century Literature Criticism, and
Contemporary Literature Criticism.
Return
to Menu