Pathfinders - Native American Resources


Printer-friendly version

See also: Native American Resources (Kids)

Books you can take with you are in this number range:
970

When searching our catalog use these subjects:
Indians of North America
Indians
Terms for specific Tribes (i.e. Navajo Indians, Dakota Indians, etc.)

Helpful Reference Books:
Encyclopedia of North American Indians - Ref 970.1 Enc (Located at Voorhees)
Handbook of North American Indians - Ref 970.1 Han (Located at Voorhees)
American Indians - Ref 970.1 American (Located at Voorhees)
I Have Spoken: American History Through the Voices of the Indians - Ref 970.1 Arm (located at Voorhees)

Suggested magazine and journal indexes:
Electronic:
          EBSCOhost    

Print:
          Social Science Index (Located at Voorhees)
          Readers Guide to Periodical Literature (Located at Voorhees)

Websites:

Code Talk
http://www.hud.gov/offices/pih/ih/codetalk/
A federal interagency website managed by Native Americans at HUD's Office of Native American Programs for the purpose of sharing information.

Indian Country News Source
http://www.indiancountrynews.com
 

National Museum of the American Indian
http://www.nmai.si.edu/
          This is the official site for the museum which is part of the Smithsonian Institution. This site includes links for exhibitions, publications, calendar of events, education, collections, other Native American sites, and more.

Native American Sites
http://www.nativeculturelinks.com/indians.html
          This site, created by a university librarian who is part Mohawk, includes numerous links divided into categories: individual native nations; native education; native organizations and center; languages; native businesses; powwows and festivals; and more.

Native Web: Resources for Indigenous Cultures Around the World
http://www.nativeweb.org
          This comprehensive source includes subject, nation, and geographic indexes as well as links to indigenous organizations; books, CDs, and cassettes; message boards; jobs, and more.

WWW Virtual Library: American Indians
http://www.hanksville.org/NAresources
          Another comprehensive site that includes links for nations, culture, history, education, genealogy, language, art, artists, jobs, books, Native American movie stars, activism, and much more.



http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/pathfinders/namer.htm 
Questions and Comments:
Last Reviewed: July 21, 2009