|
Printer-friendly
version

People and Places
Ethnic Groups
This is a selected list of sites for specific ethnic groups for the purpose of
illustrating the wealth of information currently available on the Internet. Please explore
the megasites for more
comprehensive coverage of a wide variety of ethnic groups. Print sources are available
below.
African
Americans (Christines Genealogical Website)
http://ccharity.com/
Includes primary and secondary sources, church records, research helplist, immigration and
more.
The USF
Africana Heritage Project
http://www.africanaheritage.com/
From the University of South Florida Africana Studies Department. The
Africana Heritage Project was begun in order to assist African
Americans who are researching their family histories. Their mission is to
rediscover those valuable records that document the names and lives of
slaves, freedpersons, and their descendants.
German
Genealogy
http://www.daddezio.com/germgen.html
This site by the creators of the Italian Genealogy site (see description below) focuses on
German genealogy, but includes much more information.
German Genealogy (from Genealogy.net)
http://www.genealogy.net/genealogy.html
This site includes regional resources, a translation service, societies, GeoServ (German
city, town, or burg finder) and more.
Irish
and English Genealogy on the Web
http://www.rootsweb.ancestry.com/~websites/international/uk.html
Resources for the United Kingdom: Ireland, England and
Scotland.
Italian Genealogy
http://www.daddezio.com/italgen.html
Although this site focuses on Italian genealogy, it includes much more. Its Genealogy
Hotline is an answer-oriented web site designed to help genealogists find resources for
advancing their family research. Features include "you ask a question and we'll
answer it", an index of over 10,000 surname queries, and an equally large amount of
links to surname related web sites. In addition, you'll find a growing list of unique
research databases and indexes all fully searchable by surname.
JewishGen
http://www.jewishgen.org/
Jewish genealogical information and contacts including databases of meetings, families,
publications, and other Internet sites. Includes the International Jewish Cemetery Project
and a database of Jewish Civil War veterans plus the JewishGen Discussion Group and
JewishGen Family Finder database.
Palatine
& Pennsylvania-Dutch Genealogy
http://www.ruckel.com/home3.html
Includes information on locating Pennsylvania vital records, early Pennsylvania settlers,
and surname researchers lists.
Return to menu
Countries
This is a selected list of Internet sites for countries to illustrate the
comprehensive information available on the Internet. Please consult the megasites for information
on countries which have not been listed here.
Familia
http://www.familia.org.uk/
Family history resources in public libraries in Britain and Ireland.
Federation of East European Family History Societies
http://feefhs.org/
The Pioneer Web Site for all Central and East European Genealogy since May 1995. Includes
search engine, newsletter, and ethnic, regional, and national indexes plus an Internet
journal and weekly news.
General
Register Office for Scotland
http://www.statistics.gov.uk/registration/default.asp
"The General Register Office for Scotland is the UK Government department responsible
for the registration of births, marriages, deaths, divorces and adoptions in Scotland, and
for carrying out periodic censuses of Scotland's population."
National
Archives of Ireland
http://www.nationalarchives.ie/genealogy/
A guide to the resources in the archives for individuals beginning a search on their
family history.
Places (from Family Tree
Maker)
http://www.genealogy.com/links/c/c-places-geographic.html
Comprehensive directory of sites with country information.
UK and Ireland Genealogical Information Service (GENUKI)
http://www.genuki.org.uk/
"The aim of GENUKI is to serve as a "virtual reference library" of
genealogical information that is of particular relevance to the UK & Ireland."
WorldGenWeb
http://www.worldgenweb.org/
"The goal of the WorldGenWeb Project is to have every country in the world
represented by an online website and hosted by researchers who either live in their own
country or who are familiar with their country's resources."
Return to menu
States
This is a selected list of sites on the states.
North
America Genealogy Resources
http://www.genhomepage.com/northamerican.html
Includes Canada and Mexico.
RootsWeb Resources Organized by State
http://www.rootsweb.com/roots-l/usa.html
Also includes general U.S. resources.
State Home Pages: New
Jersey
http://www.state.nj.us
Use the same format for any state (example: http://www.state.pa.us).
USGenWeb Links to States
http://www.usgenweb.org/states/index.shtml
Return to menu
Counties
This is a selected list of sites on counties.
U.S.
Gazetteer
http://www.census.gov/cgi-bin/gazetteer
This gazetteer provided by the U.S. Census Bureau is used to identify places to view with
the Tiger Map Server and obtain census data from the 1990 Census Lookup server. You can
search for places or counties by entering the name and state abbreviation (optional), or
5-digit zip code.
Geographic
Names Information System
http://geonames.usgs.gov/
Good source for finding the name of the county in which a town is located plus additional
information.
New Jersey
This is a selected list of genealogical sites for New Jersey.
New Jersey (from Cyndi's List)
http://www.CyndisList.com/nj.htm
New
Jersey (from Genealogy Sitefinder)
http://www.genealogy.com/links/c/c-places-geographic,united-states,new-jersey.html
New Jersey Genealogy (from the US GenWeb Project)
http://resources.rootsweb.com/USA/NJ.html
Organized by county, this site also includes a link for New Jersey Genealogical Resources.
New
Jersey State Library Genealogical Resources on the Web
http://www.njstatelib.org/Collections_and_Services/Genealogy/index.php
CourierPostonline
http://miva.courierpostonline.com/miva/cgi-bin/miva?obit.mv
This is the link for death notices back to January 1999 from the primary newspaper for
Camden County, NJ.
Print sources available at the Camden County Library on people and places:
Finding Italian Roots
Colletta, John P. (Ref 929.1072 Col and 929.1072 Col)
Place-Name Changes 1900-91
Room, Adrian (Ref 910.3 Roo)
Tracing Your British Ancestors
Chapman, Colin R. (Ref 929.1072 Cha and 929.1072 Cha)
Tracing Your Irish Ancestors
Grenham, John (Ref 929.1072 Gre and 929.1072 Gre)
http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/pathfinders/people.htm
Questions and Comments:
Last Updated
July 21, 2009
, No expiration date
|