|
Definition of Primary Resources:
A good definition of what primary resource
materials are can be found at the
UCLA Institute on Primary Resources .
Finding materials in our catalog:
It is difficult to locate primary resources
using the subject headings in the catalog.
Keyword searching is more effective. Some
suggested keyword searches are:
United States and history and sources
United States and history and documents
Other countries/areas such as Europe
or time periods such as Renaissance can
be substituted in these examples as needed.
Helpful reference books: (available at
Voorhees)
Annals of America at R973.08 Ann
Personal Name Index to the New York Times
at the Index Tables
American Revolution Reference Library at
R973.3 Ame
Colonial America Reference Library at R973.2
Saa
Holocaust Reference Library at R940.5318 Hol
Periodical Indexes:
(available at Voorhees)
Reader's
Guide Retrospective
Database that provides searchable access to
citations from 523 leading U.S. magazines,
covering the years between 1963 and 1982.
Searches over 675,000 articles.
Readers Guide to Periodical Literature at
the Index Tables
Print Index that covers leading U.S. magazines
from 1900-present.
New York Times Index at the Index Tables
Print index covering Sept. 1851-present.
Camdenbase
The CAMDEN Database contains selected
citations of journal, book and newspaper
articles about the city of Camden, New Jersey.
The documents cover economic, political, and
social events in the city from 1945 to the
present. This website provides bibliographic
access to the database of over 4000 articles.
You can search by keyword or browse the holdings
by specific themes.
Book Review Index at the Index
Tables
Index for reviews of books 1965-present.
Book Review Digest at the Index Tables
Index for reviews of books 1910-present.
A selection of our historical periodical
holdings: (available at Voorhees)
Courier Post Oct. 1949-present
New York Times 1851-present
Life 1937-1972; 1978-May 2000
Nation July 1909-present
New Republic Nov. 1914-present
Newsweek 1933-present
Time March 1923-present
Saturday Evening Post 1920-present
US News & World Report 1950-present
Vital Speeches of the Day Aug.
1964-present
Databases: (available at Voorhees)
Ancestry Plus Digital imaged of
census records 1790-1930. Also includes
full-text slave narratives that are searchable
by topic and keyword.
Websites:
US History Primary and Secondary Resources
Pathfinder from College & Research Libraries
News
http://www.ala.org/acrl/resnov01.html
An excellent annotated guide to the primary
source materials available on the Internet
related to US history. Materials include
documents, pictures and sound files. This is a
great place to start your research!
Primary Sources on the Web
http://www.lib.berkeley.edu/TeachingLib/Guides/PrimarySourcesOnTheWeb.html
A pathfinder about library research using
primary sources. It has a nice collection of
links to websites with primary source materials.
Internet History Sourcebooks Project
http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/
The Internet History Sourcebooks are
collections of public domain and copy-permitted
historical texts presented for educational use.
Sourcebooks offered include Ancient History,
Medieval History and Modern History.
The History Guide: Online Resources for
Historians
http://www.historyguide.org/resources.html
Includes a list of links to websites that
provide access to primary source documents. Many
of the sites are related to US history though
some cover European history as well.
American Memory: Historical Collections for
the National Digital Library
http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ammemhome.html
Provided by the Library of Congress, this
website can access over 7 million digitized
items from more than 100 historical collections.
These primary resources include text,
photographs, film, maps and music (sound and
sheet.)
National Archives and Records Administration
(NARA)
http://www.archives.gov/digital_classroom/teaching_with_documents.html
The Teaching with Documents pages links to
reproducible copies of primary documents from
the holdings of the National Archives of the
United States. Documents are grouped by time
period.
EuroDocs: Primary Historical Documents from
Western Europe
http://library.byu.edu/~rdh/eurodocs/
Western European (mainly primary) historical
documents that are transcribed, reproduced in
facsimile, or translated.
American Colonist's Library
http://personal.pitnet.net/primarysources/
A collection of the literature and documents
which were most relevant to the lives of
Colonial Americans.
Ogram's 17th Century New England Links
http://www.17thc.us/index.php?id=17
Links to images from daily life in the 17th
century. Includes legal documents pertaining to
the Salem Witch Trials.
World War I Document Archive
http://www.lib.byu.edu/~rdh/wwi/
Archive of primary documents from World War
I including official papers and personal
reminiscences.
World War II Resources
http://www.ibiblio.org/pha/
Archive of primary documents from World War
II. This archive is mostly official papers.
Historical United States Census Browser
http://fisher.lib.virginia.edu/census/
Not truly a primary document, but the data
presented on this site describe the people and
the economy of the US for each state and the
nation from 1790-1960.
|