stange

Printer-friendly version    

Psychology and Mental Health Resources
on the Internet

"One does not become enlightened
by imagining figures of light,
but by making the darkness conscious."

"All the true things must change
and only that which changes remains true."

Carl Jung

According to The Encyclopedia of Psychology, psychology is "the scientific study of mental processes, conscious and unconscious, as well as the behavior of living organisms". The goal of this Resource Guide is to provide a gateway to the best psychology and mental health websites on the Internet for patrons of the Camden County Library who are consumers of mental health services or students of psychology hoping to become providers of these services. Hopefully, the information found here will also contribute to a greater understanding of the experience of individuals challenged by mental illness. This site is dedicated to them.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Internet Mental Health Encyclopedia
http://www.mentalhealth.com/
An outstanding, free encyclopedia of mental health information.

Online Dictionary of Mental Health
http://www.human-nature.com/odmh/index.html
Provided by InterPsych, "the World's First and Largest Mental Health Cyberorganization", and the Centre for Psychotherapeutic Studies as a "global information resource and research tool covering all of the disciplines contributing to our understanding of mental health". This is not an actual dictionary but provides links to sites offering different viewpoints on issues in mental health. Includes an alphabetical subject index and library.

Return to menu

Directories and Megasites

The directories and megasites below make an effort to collect all of the psychology and/or mental health resources available on the Internet. Megasites created at academic institutions will tend to include more academic, technical or professional psychology sites, while other directories may cater more to the needs of consumers. These sites include a wealth of information and deserve exploration, but it will be helpful to consider the origin of the site and your own information needs in choosing a site.

BUBL Link: Psychology
http://link.bubl.ac.uk/psychology/
BUBL is an information service for the higher education community funded by the Scottish Higher Education Funding Council, the Higher Education Funding Council for England, the Higher Education Funding Council for Wales and the Department of Education Northern Ireland and one of the oldest Internet directories. BUBL also provides
Psychiatry sources.

Mental Health Infosource
http://www.mhsource.com/
Offered by Psychiatric Times and includes disorders, resources, classifieds, continuing education, and professional directory. Full text articles from Psychiatric Times can be found on the disorders page.

Mental Health Net
http://mentalhelp.net/
The largest and most comprehensive guide to mental health, psychology, and psychiatry resources online. Indexes over 9,000 refereed resources. Includes Disorders & Treatments, Professional Resources, Online Continuing Education, an online Reading Room and a search engine as well as self-help, real-world resources.

Psych Central: Dr. John GROHOL's Mental Health Page
http://psychcentral.com/
According to the creator, this is "your personalized one-stop index for psychology, support, and mental health issues, resources, and people on the Internet". Organized into mailing lists, newsgroups, and web sites. Includes mental health chats.

PsychCrawler
http://www.psychcrawler.com/
This is a search engine which indexes the psychological information on the Internet presented by the American Psychological Association, the National Institute for Mental Health, the Center for Mental Health Services, and other major mental health organizations. For the best results, it is recommended that you explore the User's Guide.

PsychREF:  Resources in Psychology on the Internet
http://www.psychref.com/
Created by the chairperson of the Psychology Department at Le Moyne College, this site includes links of interest to all undergraduate students studying psychology. Sites are included based on richness of content and scientific judgment and evaluated as outstanding or very fine. According to the creator, all included sites are of good utility or scope.

Psych Web
http://www.psychwww.com/
A very comprehensive site which includes a
List of Scholarly Psychology Resources on the Web which is organized by topic, Links to Psychological Journals and citations, and Psychology Self-Help Resources on the Internet, an alphabetized list of disorders. Also includes Tipsheets for Psychology Majors, Psychology Departments on the Web, and Careers in Psychology.

Psychology Centre
http://server.bmod.athabascau.ca/html/aupr/psycres.htm
Created by the Athabasca University (Canada) Psychology Department, this site provides many useful links.

School Psychology Resources Online
http://www.schoolpsychology.net/
Information for the school psychology community including specific disorders and conditions, school psychology jobs, and other information such as parenting, adolescence, report writing, and professional organizations. Created by a Ph.D. school psychologist in the Baltimore County Maryland Public Schools.

Social Psychology Network
http://www.socialpsychology.org/
The visually pleasant and comprehensive site is the largest social psychology database on the Internet with more than 4,000 links. It includes social psychology subjects, Ph.D. Programs and journals and a Social Psychologist Directory. This site also includes general psychology sites. Created by a psychology professor at Wesleyan University.

The WWW School Psychology Home Page
http://facpub.stjohns.edu/~ortizs/spwww.html
This site is designed to serve as a starting point for school counselors, school psychologists and other educators to locate information and resources which will help them provide the best service to the students they serve. It includes school psychology links, assessment links, training programs, associations, and employment links.

Return to menu

Psychology and Mental Health for Consumers

This list is not intended to be comprehensive, but attempts to provide some basic mental health reference sources specifically for consumers. Please consult the megasites for hundreds of other sites for consumers.

APA HelpCenter
http://helping.apa.org/
The American Psychological Association page for advice on when and how to obtain psychological services and information on how psychology can help with life's problems. Includes how to cope with common problems at work, how the mind and body can work together to maintain health, and how to handle family relationship problems. Find a psychologist in your area by calling 1-800-964-2000.

Clinicians Yellow Pages
http://mentalhelp.net/mhn/yellowpages/db.cgi?uid=default&view_search=1
Search for a clinician with Mental Health Net's Yellow Pages.

Growth House, Inc.
http://www.growthhouse.org/default.html#mission
An international gateway to resources for life-threatening illness and end of life issues. "Our primary mission is to improve the quality of compassionate care for people who are dying through public education." Includes information on hospice care, estate planning, funeral planning, pain management, and so on.

Internet Resources for Loss and Grief
http://www.journeyofhearts.org/jofh/grief
This is a listing of general resources on loss and grief on the Internet. It includes organizations, major websites, selected categories, book resources on-line and a link for sites categorized by the type of loss.

National Alliance for the Mentally Ill
http://www.nami.org/
The website of the nation's leading grassroots advocacy organization solely dedicated to improving the lives of persons with severe mental illnesses including schizophrenia, bipolar disorder (manic-depressive illness), major depression, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and severe anxiety disorders.

Psychopharmacology and Drug References
http://mentalhelp.net/guide/pro22.htm
Information about psychiatric and other medications from Mental Health Net. Also includes other Internet resources for psychopharmacology.

RxList: The Internet Drug Index
http://www.rxlist.com
Search for information about drugs by name.

Self-help and Psychology Magazine
http://www.cybertowers.com/selfhelp/
This is an educational publication written by mental health professionals for the purpose of discussing psychology as it applies to everyday life. Includes full text of articles.

Self Help Resources on the Internet
http://www.psychwww.com/resource/selfhelp.htm
This list is provided by Psych Web and includes an alphabetized list of disorders with links and links to psychology brochures and articles.

State Resources
http://www.mentalhealth.org/publications/stateresourceguides.cfm
A state-by-state directory of mental health agencies and contacts.

Suicide Helpline
http://psychcentral.com/helpme.htm
This site by Psych Central provides support for individuals considering suicide with text, by telephone, and by email and mailing lists for those thinking about suicide and suicide survivors.

What is Mental Illness?
http://www.psych.org/
You can find this explanation of mental illness on the home page for the American Psychiatric Association under the "Public Information" link along with information on how to choose a psychiatrist, fact sheets, psychiatric medications, pamphlets, mental illness health coverage issues and more.

Return to menu

Professional Journal Articles in Psychology
(both citations and limited full text available)

This section provides sources for periodical articles written by psychology and mental health professionals. Students, in particular, should visit an academic library and search the PsychInfo or PsychLit databases which index only the professional literature in psychology. An academic library will also be likely to own Psychological Abstracts which is the primary psychology index in paper format. In addition, while the Camden County Library owns the paper Social Sciences Index, which includes indexing for some psychology journals, this index may be available at an academic library in electronic format. An academic library will be likely to own more psychology journals than a public library. In general, an academic library will better meet the needs of psychology students.

E-Journals in Psychology
http://www.tulsa.oklahoma.net/~jnichols/ejournals.html
Provides links to psychology journals available online in various forms and to subscription information.

Electronic Journals and Periodicals
http://psych.hanover.edu/Krantz/journal.html#otherjournal
A relatively complete index of psychologically related electronic journals, conference proceedings, and other periodicals on the Internet.

PSYCLINE: Your Guide to Psychology and Social Science Journals
http://www.psycline.org/journals/psycline.html

Provided by Armin Guenther, Psychologist, University of Augsburg, Germany, this is an index to over 1,000 psychology and social sciences journals online. The site is searchable by keyword, subject, and alphabetically by journal title. You can also search the full text of journal home pages and try his PsychArticle Search. He also provides a list of psychology journals with full text available online.

Medline
http://www.nlm.nih.gov/medlineplus/medlineplus.html
Search for articles on a psychological topic in Medline, the medical database provided by the National Library of Medicine. This database covers the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences. It contains bibliographic citations and author abstracts from millions of medical references.  It includes the search interface PubMed.

Northern Light
http://www.northernlight.com
Northern Light is an Internet search engine, but it includes a special collection. The Northern Light Special Collection comprised of thousands of trusted, full-text journals, books, magazines, newswires, and reference sources, including psychology and psychiatry journals.  Documents in this collection are full text and new sources are continuously added. It includes articles back to 1995 and some book reviews back to 1990. You can purchase these articles for $1-$4 with your credit card or order them through Interlibrary Loan.

PsychJournalSearch
http://mentalhelp.net/journals/
From Mental Health Net, this is a different search interface for Armin Guenther's site (see Links to Psychology Journals above). You can limit your search to journals with their table of contents online, journals with abstracts online, and journals with full text online.

Search the Psychoanalytic Literature
http://apsa.org/lit/index.htm
The Jourlit and Bookrev databases provide a huge bibliography of psychoanalytic journal articles, books, and book reviews consisting of almost 30,000 entries. This service provides document delivery for a fee.

UnCover
http://www.ulib.iupui.edu/erefs/carl.html

"UnCover is a database of current article information taken from well over 18,000 multidisciplinary journals. UnCover contains brief descriptive information for over 8,000,000 articles which have appeared since Fall 1988. UnCover offers you the opportunity to order fax copies of the articles from this database. UnCover is easy to use, with keyword access to article titles and summaries." Searching UnCover is free, so you can use it to locate journal articles in psychology and then order them through Interlibrary Loan rather than ordering through UnCover if you wish. You can also check the periodicals lists of local educational institutions (
Rutgers or Rowan) and get your articles locally.

Return to menu

Academic Subject Directories

Part of the mission of libraries at academic institutions where a psychology major is available is to collect materials to support this major. Consequently, many of these libraries are also collecting Internet sites which might be useful to students majoring in psychology. The sites below will lead to the home pages of colleges and universities. From these pages, search for a link for the library and from the library page for a link for subject resources on the Internet such as psychology. Here is a page listing the top ranked U.S. Psychology Ph.D. programs to help you choose which institutions you might wish to visit. For example, Yale is ranked as #3, and here are the sites that librarians at Yale are collecting for psychology.

American Universities
http://www.clas.ufl.edu/CLAS/american-universities.html
Includes university home pages and department or college level pages if the university does not have a home page. Also includes
Canadian Universities,  and Community Colleges.

Local Academic Library Catalogs and Resources

Here are the Psychology Resources collected by the Paul Robeson Library at the Camden campus of Rutgers. From the library pages, you can also search IRIS, the online catalog at Rutgers, Camden, to determine what psychology books and periodicals they own should you wish to go there to pick up articles. You can also search the library catalog and web resources available at Rowan University. Camden County College and the Camden County Library share a catalog, so you can locate books at the college by searching our catalog.

If you would like to search the catalogs of other college or public libraries in New Jersey, you can access them through a site provided by the New Jersey State Library.

Psychology and Mental Health for Students

Graduate Student Resources
http://psych.hanover.edu/APS/grad.html
Includes a Career Planning Center, help in determining a psychology specialty, sites for exploring graduate schools, information on the GRE, and hints on doing research from the American Psychological Society.

Psychological Research on the Net
http://psych.hanover.edu/APS/exponnet.html
Links to psychological experiments on the Internet from the American Psychological Society.

Scholarly Psychology Resources on the Web
http://www.psychwww.com/resource/bytopic.htm
This page from the Psych Web site provides links to sites offering scholarly information on the Internet. It includes links to journals and journal articles, subtopics in psychology, psychology departments on the web, megalists of psychology resources and self-help sites.

Student Information
http://www.apa.org/students/
Information on planning for college and/or graduate school and planning your career in psychology from the American Psychological Association. Includes information on funding your studies.

Tipsheets for Psychology Majors
http://www.psychwww.com/tipsheet/index.html
Helpful information for psychology majors provided by Psych Web.

Return to menu

Doing Psychology Research, Writing Papers and Citing References

APA Publication Manual Crib Sheet
http://www.psychwww.com/resource/apacrib.htm
Links to APA style guides and help sheets on the Internet by Psych Web.

Library Research in Psychology: Finding It Easily
http://www.apa.org/science/lib.html
A pamphlet created by the American Psychological Association (APA) Science Directorate to help students and non-psychologists find relevant research on psychological topics. Intended to provide a head start in finding where psychological research is published, how it is indexed, and where to go in the library to find different resources. College students will have more success finding this information at their college library as college libraries collect materials to support the classes taught at the institution and are more likely to have specialized, psychology indexes while public libraries collect for the general public.

Tipsheets for Psychology Majors
http://www.psychwww.com/tipsheet/index.html

Web Extension to APA Style
http://www.nyu.edu/pages/psychology/WEAPAS/
A proposed standard for referencing online documents in scientific publications.

Return to menu

Psychology Jobs

Job Search Support
http://psych.hanover.edu/APS/job.html
Assistance for people interested in employment in psychology from the American Psychological Society.

Online Psychology Career Center
http://www.socialpsychology.org/career.htm
Designed to be a one-stop resource for psychology students and professionals. "Want tips on how to get into graduate school? Need advice on how to prepare for the Graduate Record Exam, develop an academic vita, or get good letters of recommendation? Want to search through hundreds of job listings in psychology? Then you've come to the right place!"

Selected Organizations
(Please see the megasites for more comprehensive information about psychology and mental health organizations)

American Psychiatric Association
http://www.psych.org/
The members of this medical specialty society specialize in the diagnosis and treatment of mental and emotional illnesses and substance use disorders. This site includes information on how to choose a psychiatrist and contacts for locating a doctor in your area.

American Psychological Association
http://www.apa.org/
The Internet site for the largest scientific and professional organization representing psychology in the United States and the world's largest association of psychologists. The APA "works to advance psychology as a science, as a profession, and as a means of promoting human welfare". Call 1-800-964-2000 to locate a psychologist in your area.

National Alliance for the Mentally Ill
http://www.nami.org/
The website of the nation's leading grassroots advocacy organization solely dedicated to improving the lives of persons with severe mental illnesses including schizophrenia, bipolar disorder (manic-depressive illness), major depression, obsessive-compulsive disorder, and severe anxiety disorders.

Return to menu


This research guide is maintained by Barbara Evans, Reference Librarian, Camden County Library.
Updated July 21, 2009 .
You can contact Camden County Library by telephone (856) 772-1636, or comment on this Resource Guide by sending electronic mail to
barbara@camden.lib.nj.us.