Pathfinders - Songs and Sheet Music


Printer-friendly version

See also:  N/A

Books you can take with you are in this number range:
782 

When searching our catalog use these subjects:
Popular Music
Specific type of music (i.e. Rock Music, Country Music)

Helpful reference books:
Popular Song Index - Ref. 016.784 Hav (Located at Voorhees)
          Multi-volume index by song title and books where song has been printed.
Great Song Thesaurus - Ref. 016.7845 Lax (Located at Voorhees)
          Useful to identify song title and composer.
Where's that Tune? An index to songs in fakebooks - Ref 016.7824 Goo (Located at
          Voorhees)

Suggested magazine and journal indexes:
N/A

Websites:

California Library Systems Cooperative Song Index: http://www.sjvls.org/songs/
Over 135,000 song titles (mostly popular music), over 1,300 items indexed (song books, magazines, and other collections). Compiled from the collections of SJVLS Libraries and California Library System Reference Centers. Maintained by the San Joaquin Valley Information Service. (annotation from web site) The links for other song resources are very helpful.


Popular Song Database: http://www.lib.washington.edu/asp/databases/music/PopSongBrowse.asp
          This database is a popular song index and is provided by the University of Washington Music Library. It is searchable by keyword. You can use this database to locate a source for song lyrics and music

Lester S. Levy Sheet Music Collection: 
http://levysheetmusic.mse.jhu.edu/

          This collection of sheet music from the Milton S. Eisenhower Library at Johns Hopkins University includes 29,000 pieces of American sheet music published between 1780 and 1980. It includes minstrel music and songs about many subjects and has a special strength in music written during military conflicts. The site indexes the collection and provides covers and sheet music for the music printed before 1923. The database can be searched in numerous ways

Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1870-1885:
http://rs6.loc.gov/ammem/mussmquery.html

          Music for the Nation: American Sheet Music, 1870-1885 consists of over 47,000 pieces of sheet music registered for copyright during the years 1870 to 1885. Included are popular songs, piano music, sacred and secular choral music, solo instrumental music, method books and instructional materials, and music for band and orchestra..

Song Index: Los Angeles Public Library: 
http://www.lapl.org/resources/indexes/allsong.html
          Use this index to search for songs in books owned by the Los Angeles Public Library. You can use this index to locate a source for song lyrics and music.

UTK Song Index: 
http://www.lib.utk.edu/music/songdb/.
          This is a publicly-available database providing access to about 50,000 songs in more than 1,500 published song anthologies owned by the George F. DeVine Music Library at the University of Tennessee, located in Knoxville. This is an index to citations only. If you are not affiliated with the University of Tennessee, you may still be able to obtain the songs listed here through interlibrary loan. (annotation from website)



http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/pathfinders/songs.htm 
Questions and Comments:
Last Reviewed: July 21, 2009