Introduction
There’s no greater thrill
for writers than seeing their words published for the first time.
You slave over each sentence or stanza to produce a short story,
newspaper article, poem, or book, and now it’s in print and you’ve
actually been paid.
Sheer bliss.
But how does
this happen?
It may start with a
smidgeon of an idea, like Mary Shelly thinking about the possibility
of assembling a human and bringing it to life; or perhaps Charles
Dickens remembering his terrible experiences in a bottle-blacking
factory in his youth; or Mark Twain dreaming of floating down the
Mississippi River with a runaway slave.
Whatever the spark, you’ve
fed the flame until you produce your own masterpiece. And perhaps
the rest of the world might consider it a masterpiece as well, but a
lot has to happen from the time your writing is completed until the
public reads your words.
At a magazine, newspaper,
publishing house, or Internet website, an editor has to consider
your writing worthwhile before it’s published. So you submit your
writing for consideration and face acceptance or rejection.
Does a writer send a piece
of writing to one editor at a time, or deluge many editors? Or does
a writer send twenty-five articles to one editor and pray that one
is accepted?
Other authors believe in
themselves enough to forego the emotional seesaw of acceptance and
rejection by starting their own magazine or book publishing company.
A short list of self-publishers includes W. E. B. Dubois, Deepak
Chopra, Mark Twain, Gertrude Stein, Zane Grey, Upton Sinclair, Carl
Sandberg, James Joyce, D. H. Lawrence, Ezra Pound, Edgar Rice
Burroughs, Stephen Crane, George Bernard Shaw, Virginia Wolff, e. e.
Cummings, Edgar Allen Poe, Rudyard Kipling, Henry David Thoreau,
Benjamin Franklin, Walt Whitman, Alexandre Dumas, Beatrix Potter, L.
Ron Hubbard, and John Grisham.
And some well-known titles
that were self-published include What Color Is Your Parachute, In
Search of Excellence, The Celestine Prophecy, The One-Minute
Manager, The Elements of Style, The Joy of Cooking, and The
Encyclopedia of Associations.
The best way to determine
your route to publication is to learn about the positives and
negatives of each method. We hope that this seminar, and the packets
of information we distribute, will help you decide and make your
road to publication a short one.
The
best way to determine your route to publication is to learn about
the positives and negatives of each method. We hope that this
information will help you decide and make your road to publication a
short one.
Writing in General
Websites for Writers
Forwriters.com
http://www.forwriters.com/ A cornucopia of information for
writers, including seminars, useful websites, marketing, writing
groups, agents, and more.
About.com: Freelance
writing
http://www.freelancewrite.about.com/ An excellent site that
contains links to websites with information about writing,
contracts, and jobs.
Writers.com
http://www.writers.com/ A website with information about
writer education and writing groups as well as book
recommendations.
Writing for O’Reilly
http://www.oreilly.com/oreilly/author/intro.html A guide for
new writers.
Yahoo: Creative Writing
Online Workshops
http://dir.yahoo.com/Arts/Humanities/Literature/Creative_Writing/Workshops/Online
Has
links to dozens of worthwhile sites for the writer.
How to Write a Book
Proposal http://www.adlerbooks.com/howto.html How to write a
computer book proposal and a trade book proposal.
Absolute Write http://www.absolutewrite.com/
Freelance writing, screenwriting, playwriting, writing novels,
nonfiction, comic book writing, greeting cards, poetry, and
songwriting.
Writeforkids.com
http://www.write4kids.com/ Write4Kids.com is packed with
articles and interactive tools for children’s book writers.
eHarlequin.com: Learn
to Write for Aspiring Authors
http://www.eharlequin.com/cms/learntowrite/ltwToc.jhtml A
website for romance fiction writers.
Writing-Etc.com
http://www.writing-etc.com A website with editing and
marketing information.
Poets & Writers
http://www.pw.org/index.shtml This is a good resource for
creative writing.
Internet Resources for
Journalists
http://www.oatis.com/ A great resource for journalists.
Sunoasis Jobs
http://www.sunoasis.com/ A good place to find writing jobs.
Media Bistro
http://www.mediabistro.com/ Another good website to find
writing jobs.
The Writer’s BBS:
International Writers Community
http://www.writersbbs.com
Writing
forums that discuss all aspects of writing; there’s even software
recommendations for writers.
Books for Writers
See
www.writers.com for lists of essential purchases in a variety of
genres. Below are some titles recommended for writers. All can be
found at the Voorhees Branch of the Camden County Library System.
Please check our catalog for availability at other branches.
Characters and
Viewpoint (Elements of Fiction Writing) by Orson Scott Card
808.3 Car
The Complete Guide to
Literary Contests by William F. Fabio and James M. Plagianos
(compilers) Ref. 807.9 Con
On Writing Well: The
Classic Guide to Writing Non-Fiction by William Zinsser 808.042
Zin
The Writer’s Art by
James Kilpatrick (Out-of-print, but a book that every writer
should read. Please ask your local library to obtain it by
interlibrary loan.)
How To Write Science
Fiction and Fantasy by Orson Scott Card 808.3876 Car
Plot: Elements of
Fiction Writing by Ansen Dibell 808.3 Dib
How To Write A Damn
Good Novel by James N. Frey 808.3 Fre
Self-Editing For
Fiction Writers by Renni Browne and Dave King 808.3 Bro
The Weekend Novelist by
Robert Joseph Ray 808.3 Ray
Writing Mysteries by
Sue Grafton (editor), Jan Burke (editor), and Barry Zeman
808.3872 Wri
How To Write Romances
(Genre Writing Series) by Phyllis Taylor Pianka 808.385 Pia
Writing the Modern
Mystery (Genre Writing Series) by Barbara Norville (On order as
of 3/03)
Freelance Writing for
Magazines and Newspapers: Breaking in Without Selling Out by
Marcia Yudkin (On order as of 3/03)
Associated Press Guide
to New Writing by Rene J. Cappon (On order as of 3/03)
Writing In General And
The Short Story In Particular by L. Rust Hills (On order as of
3/03)
The Art of Fiction:
Notes on Craft for Young Writers by John Gardener 808.3 Gar
You may also want to
consider reading and/or purchasing the titles listed in the section
“Writers’ Tools.”
Reference Books for Writers
Our reference librarians
are available to assist you with your research. Below are some
suggested titles to get you started. All can be found at the
Voorhees Branch of the Camden County Library System. Please check
our catalog for availability at other branches.
American Directory of Writer’s Guidelines 2nd edition,
Ref. 070.5025 Ame
A compilation of
information for freelancers from more than 1,300 magazine editors
and book publishers. Explains what the editors and publishers hope
to receive from writers.
Burrelle’s New Jersey Media Directory, NJ Ref. 070.1025
Bur
Complete Guide to Literary Contests, Ref. 807.9 Com
“Daily Life In…” A series of reference books that gives
the details of everyday life in various historical time periods, for
example, Daily Life in Elizabethan England. To find these titles
search our catalog using the keywords daily life through history.
Dramatists Sourcebook, Ref. 792.025 Dra
Details script-submission
procedures for more than 350 theaters seeking new plays; more than
150 prizes with sections on submission guidelines, fellowships and
grants, organizations, script preparation, agents, colonies and
residencies, workshops, publishing opportunities and submission
calendar.
Editor & Publisher International Year Book, Ref. 070.058
Edi
Encyclopedia of the
newspaper industry with listings for all dailies worldwide and all
community and special interest U.S. and Canadian weeklies.
Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media, Ready
Ref . 071.3025 Gal
Grants and Awards Available to American Writers, Ref.
001.44 Gra
Greater Philadelphia Media Guide, Ref. 070.5025 Gre
Guide to Literary Agents: 600+ Agents Who Sell What You
Write, Ref. 070.52 Gui
International Directory
of Little Magazines & Small Presses, Ref. 051.025 Int
Literary Marketplace, Ref. 070.5 Lit & International
Literary Marketplace, Ref. 070.5 Int Contact information for
publishers and literary agents.
Ulrich’s International Periodical Directory, Ready Ref.
016.05 Ulr
Writers Guide to Book Editors, Publishers and Literary
Agents, Ref. 070.5825 Wri
Magazines of Interest to
Writers
American Journalism Review: Magazine for journalists and
communications professionals. Copies can be found at the Voorhees
Branch. Website at
http://www.ajr.org.
Variety: Entertainment industry trade publication with
information of interest to screenwriters. Copies can be found at the
Voorhees Branch. Website at
http://www.variety.com.
Editor & Publisher: Weekly magazine covering the newspaper
publishing industry. Copies can be found at the Voorhees Branch.
Website at
http://www.editorandpublisher.com.
Horn Book: Bimonthly magazine covering children’s
literature. Copies can be found at the Voorhees Branch. Website at
http://www.hbook.com.
Publisher’s Weekly: Weekly magazine covering the book
publishing industry. Copies can be found at the Voorhees Branch and
the Haddon Twp. Branch. Website at
http://www.publishersweekly.com.
Writer’s Digest: Monthly magazine for writers’. Copies can
be found in the Periodicals Department of our Voorhees Branch and in
the Periodicals section of our Haddon Twp. and South County
Branches. Website at
http://www.writersdigest.com.
Writing
Associations
Online Resources
Authors Guild
http://www.authorsguild.org 31 E. 28 St., New York, NY
10016. Tel: 212-563-5904. National membership organization for
nonfiction & fiction books, authors & freelance journalists.
Publication: The Bulletin (quarterly).
Dog Writers'
Association of America Inc. (DWAA)
http://www.dwaa.org
173 Union Rd. Coatesville,
PA 19320. Tel: 610-384-2436 Provide information about dogs (sport,
breeding & ownership) and assist writers in gaining access to
exhibitions. Publication: DWAA Newsletter (monthly).
Garden Writers
Association of America
http://www.gwaa.org 10201 Leatherleaf Ct., Manassas, VA
20111. Tel: 703-257-1032. Professional association of garden
communicators, working as staff or free-lance as newspaper
columnists, magazine columnists, etc. Sponsor annual writer's
contest. Publication: Quill & Trowel (bimonthly, newsletter).
Horror Writers'
Association, (HWA)
http://www.horror.org P.O. Box 50577, Palo Alto, CA 94303.
Monthly newsletter, online information, databases of agents,
etc. Annual Gathering. Publication: Newsletter (monthly).
Mystery Writers of
America Inc.
http://www.mysterywriters.org 17 E. 47th St., 6th Fl, New
York, NY 10017. Tel: 212-888-8171. Membership open to
professional writers in the mystery & other fields. Publication:
Mystery Writers Annual.
National Association of
Science Writers (NASW)
http://www.nasw.org P.O. Box 294, Greenlawn, NY 11740. Tel:
631-757-5664 Local meetings in 7 cities. Publication: NASW
(quarterly).
National Writers Union
http://www.nwu.org 113 University Place, 6th fl., New York,
NY 10003. Tel: 212-254-0279 An organization whose goal is better
treatment of freelance writers by publishers. Publication:
American Writer (quarterly).
Romance Writers of
America
http://www.rwanational.org/ 3707 FM 1960 West, Suite 555,
Houston, TX 77068. Tel: 281-440-6885 Conducts workshops and
sponsors regional conferences. Publication: Bulletin Board
(monthly).
The New Jersey Chapter of
the Romance Writers of America
http://www.njromancewriters.org
The New Jersey Chapter of
the Romance Writers of America has its meetings in Iselin, NJ
(Monmouth County)
Science Fiction &
Fantasy Writers of America, Inc.
http://www.sfwa.org P.O. Box 171, Unity, ME 04988. Tel:
888-322-7392 (toll free) An organization of professional writers
and others in this field. Publication: SFWA Bulletin
(quarterly).
Society of American
Travel Writers
http://www.satw.org 1500 Sunday Dr., Suite 102, Raleigh, NC
27607. Tel: 919-787-5181.
Whateverswrite
http://www.whateverswrite.homestead.com This is a prose
writers' workshop group based in South Jersey, which meets the
1st Thursday of each month, at 7 pm, at the Haddon Township
Branch of the Camden County Library.
Print
Resources
The Reference Department at
Voorhees Branch of the Camden County Library has a number of books
listing more writers’ associations and organizations. Some
additional titles to check are: Literary Market Place (R070.5 Lit)
and Writers’ Market (R070.5 Wri).
Education for Writers
Online
Resources
The Shaw Guides to
Writers’ Conferences
http://writing.shawguides.com/ Free online directory to over
1300 writers’ conferences and workshops.
Rider University
http://www.rider.edu/ In Lawrenceville, NJ. 0ffers a major
in writing for the Bachelor of Arts degree.
Rowan University
http://www.rowan.edu/colleges/communication/departments/writingArts/graduateprogram.html
In Glassboro, NJ. Offers a Master of Arts degree in writing.
The University of the
Arts
http://www.uarts.edu/academics/cmac/wr/bfawriting.html In
Philadelphia, Pa. Offers a B.A. degree in Writing for Film and
Television.
Print Resources
The Reference Department at
the Voorhees Branch of the Camden County Library has a number of
books listing colleges and distance learning classes for writers;
all are in the Job & Career Information Center (JACIC). A few titles
are:
The College Blue Book
Ref. 378.73 Coll
Barron’s Profiles of
American Colleges Ref. 378.73 Pro
Guide to Distance
Learning Programs Ref. 378.1554 Pet
Look
for either “writing” or “creative writing” as the subject.
Writing Tools
Online Resources
Merriam Webster Online
http://www.merriam-webster.com/ A dictionary based on the
Webster 10th Collegiate edition, 1993. Each word includes
definition, pronunciation, usage, grammar and brief etymology.
Also includes a thesaurus.
American Heritage
Dictionary of the English Language
http://www.bartleby.com/61/ Searchable electronic dictionary
based on the fourth edition (2000). It includes over 90,000
entries feature 10,000 new words and senses, 70,000 audio word
pronunciations, 900 full-page color illustrations, language
notes and word-root appendixes.
Librarian’s Index to
the Internet Directory of Dictionaries
http://lii.org/search/file/dictionaries Annotated links to
all kinds of English language dictionaries and word resources
including specialty subjects, rhyming dictionaries, synonyms &
antonyms.
The Elements of Style
http://www.bartleby.com/141/ The full text of the 1918
edition of this classic reference work offers rules of usage and
principles of composition.
The American Heritage
Book of English Usage
http://www.bartleby.com/64/
This reference work offers
detailed information on grammar, style, diction, word formation,
gender, social groups and scientific forms.
Yahoo – English
Language – Grammar, Usage and Style
http://dir.yahoo.com/Social_Science/Linguistics_and_Human_Languages/
Languages/Specific_Languages/English/Grammar__Usage__and_Style/
Annotated links to a variety of sites designed to assist with
grammar and style related questions.
Onelook
http://www.onelook.com A search engine for words. Enter your
word and Onelook searches a collection of over 800 online
dictionaries. It can search for definitions and translations.
You can also browse these dictionaries.
Camden County Library’s
Databases
http://www.camdencountylibrary.org/reference/online.htm
Print Resources
The Reference Department at
out Voorhees location has an extensive collection of English
Language and foreign language dictionaries including the Oxford
English Dictionary 2nd edition (20 vols.) English language
dictionaries may be found at Ref. 423. Thesauri may be found at Ref.
423.1. Foreign language dictionaries may be found at Ref. 423.3–499.
Please check our catalog for availability at other branches.
Other
books of interest when writing include:
The Elements of Style
by William Strunk and E.B. White, 807.042 Str
Chicago Manual of
Style, Ref. 808.027 Chi
The New Fowler’s Modern
English Usage, Ref. 423.1 Fow
MLA Handbook for
Writers of Research Papers, 808.027 Gib
Publication Manual of
the American Psychological Association, 808.0661 Pub
Poetry
Online
Resources
RhymeZone Rhyming
Dictionary & Thesaurus
http://www.rhymezone.com Enter a word and this website helps
you find rhyming words.
Passions In Poetry
Learning Center
http://www.netpoets.com/learning This site helps people
write better poetry and has other information for poets.
Poetry.com
http://www.poetry.com Another website with helpful
information for poets.
Poetry Daily
http://www.poems.com/
Information on self-publication, poetry circles and a section
for posting your poetry on the Web.
Print Resources
Unless noted, all of the
titles below can be found at the Voorhees Branch of the Camden
County Library System. Please check our catalog for availability at
other branches.
Poet's Guide: How To
Publish and Perform Your Work by Michael J. Bugeja. 808.1 Bug
(Bellmawr Branch)
Poet’s Market 2003 Ref.
070.5025 Poe
Poet Power! : The
Practical Poet's Complete Guide to Getting Published by Thomas
A. Williams. 808.1 Wil
Words To Rhyme With:
For Poets and Song Writers by Willard R. Espy Ref. 423.1 Esp &
423.1 Esp. Other rhyming dictionaries can be found by searching
our catalog for the keywords “rhyming dictionaries.”
Self-Publication
Books
All of the titles below can
be found at the Voorhees Branch of the Camden County Library System.
Please check our catalog for availability at other branches.
The Copyright Handbook:
How to Protect & Use Written Works (5th edition) by Stephen
Fishman 346.0482 Fis
The Copyright
Permission and Libel Handbook: A Step-by-Step Guide for Writers,
Editors, and Publishers by Lloyd J. Jassin and Steve C. Schecter
346.0482 Jas
Editor and Publisher
Syndicate Directory 2002 (On Order for Reference 3/03)
The Self-Publishing
Manual: How To Write, Print, and Sell Your Own Book, 13th
edition) by Dan Poynter (Poynter is a self-publishing guru and
former president of the Publishers Marketing Association.)
070.593 Poy
Complete Guide to Self
Publishing: Everything You Need to Know to Write, Publish,
Promote, and Sell Your Own Book (Self-Publishing 4th Edition) by
Tom Ross and Marilyn Ross 070.5097 Ros
Guerilla Marketing For
Writers by Jay Conrad Levinson, Rick Frishman & Michael Larsen.
(On Order 3/03)
Jump Start Your Book
Sales: A Money-Making Guide for Authors, Independent Publishers,
and Small Presses by Marilyn Ross and Tom Ross 381.45 Ros
Magazines
Writer’s Digest: A
monthly writers’ magazine. Copies can be found at the Voorhees,
Haddon Twp. and South County branches. (phone:800-333-0133,
http://www.writersdigest.com)
Publishers Weekly: A
periodical about the book industry. Copies can be found at the
Voorhees and Haddon Twp. branches. (212-645-0067,
http://www.publishersweekly.com)
Editor & Publisher- A
weekly that covers the newspaper industry. Copies can be found
at the Voorhees branch. (800-722-6658,
http://www.editorandpublisher.com)
Self-Publishing Newsletters
Book Marketing Update. Open Horizon Publishing Company,
209 S. Main Street, #200. P.0. Box 205, Fairfield, IA 52556-0205.
The Publisher Notes. A Newsletter for the Self-Publisher.
P.0. Box 8475. Denver, CO 80202.
Organizations for Self-Publishers
Mid-Atlantic Book
Publishers Association (MBPA). The Dracon Building, 318
Fitzwater Street, Philadelphia, PA 19147-3204.
http://www.midatlanticbookpublishers.com/
Publishers Marketing
Association (PMA). 2401 Pacific Coast Highway, Suite 102,
Hermosa Beach, CA 90254.
http://www.pma-online.org/
Small Publishers
Association of North America (SPAN). SPAN Headquarters. P.0. Box
1306. Buena Vista, CO 81211. 719-395-4700.
http://www.spannet.org/
Print On Demand
Xlibris Publishing
http://www.xlibris.com A local copyediting, on-demand
printing, and book marketing company.
Iuniverse Independent
Publisher
http://www.iuniverse.com Another company to consider for
writers and publishers who want print on demand book production.
Self-Publication
Websites
Bookwire
http://www.bookwire.com Lots of information on book
publishing and links to important websites.
Bookzone
http://www.bookzone.com A one-stop website for writers,
publishers, as well as booksellers and buyers.
American Book Producers
Association
http://www.abpaonline.org A place for authors, editors, and
publishers to shop for a book producer. (The ABPA defines a book
producer as follows: “Book producers, also known as book
packagers, provide all the services necessary for publication
except sales and order fulfillment. They work with authors,
editors, photographers, illustrators, designers, and printers
(among others) to deliver fully edited manuscripts, formatted
computer disks, film for a printer, or finished books. Book
producers also assist publishers in developing and executing
marketing plans for their titles.”)
Baltimore Writer’s
Alliance
http://www.baltimorewriters.org/essay%20archive/july00.html
Self-publishing tips from a very active writing organization.
Law for Writers
Online Resources
Legal Information Institute: Copyright Information
http://www.law.cornell.edu/topics/copyright.html
Publishing Law Center
http://www.publaw.com/
U.S. Copyright Office
http://www.copyright.gov/
Print
Resources
All of the titles below can
be found at the Voorhees Branch of the Camden County Library System.
Please check our catalog for availability at other branches.
Business and Legal Forms for Authors and Self-Publishers
by Tad Crawford. 343.0998 Cra
Copyright Handbook: How to Protect and Use Written Works
(5th edition) by Stephen Fishman 346.0482 Fis
The Copyright Permission and Libel Handbook: A
Step-By-Step Guide for Writers, Editors and Publishers by Lloyd J. Jassin and Steve C. Schecter 346.0482 Jas
Every Writers Guide to Copyright and Publishing Law by
Ellen M. Kozak 346.0482 Koz
Getting Permission: How to License & Clear Copyrighted
Materials Online and Off by Richard Stim 346.0482 Sti
Kirsch's Guide to the Book Contract: For Authors,
Publishers, Editors, and Agents by Jonathan Kirsch. 343.0998 Kir
Making it in the music Business: a Business and Legal
Guide for Songwriters and Performers by Lee Wilson. 780.68 Wil
The Public Domain: How to Find Copyright-Free Writings,
Music, Art and More by Stephen Fishman
Revised 2/11